1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How can i make Swype FORGET a word??

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by jcardona1, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    Ok this is really annoying! not sure if it's a Swype thing of the phone itself. a while back i went to type the word "actg", short for accounting. now swype remembers this word and whenever i want to type the word "a", Swype inserts "actg" which is extremely annoying and frustrating!

    do you guys know if i can make swype forget this word? thanks! :)
  2. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I've had a similar problem and cannot find the answer on the Swype forum site. In general, it appears that user access to the dictionary is not well documented or available. The Swype software manages it and adds words but it's very difficult to look over its shoulder to see what is going on, much less to intervene.

    AHA! Found the answer... From the Swype site....

    "If it had been a user-added word, all you would have to do is highlight the word and press the Swype key. You'd then see a notification that the word was removed from the UDB. Happy Swyping,.."
    Franklin

    Franklin is the customer support guru at Swype.
  3. les017
    Offline

    les017 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am pretty sure that Swype does not remember the word itself. All added words are added to the User Dictionary.

    go Droid Settings > Language & Keyboard > User Dictionary....select word and it will ask you to "edit" or "delete"
  4. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    tried that but that word doesnt even show up in my user dictionary. ??
  5. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    not if you TAP a word out then press space bar swype will learn this word it will NOT be entered into the dictionary

    try it out find a word that swype doesn't know then tap it out and then try and swype it

    -=Jason=-
  6. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I may be wrong, but I believe that only works for the "Android Keyboard." I'm pretty certain, for example, that I had to re-enter my wife's and daughter's names into the Swype keyboard after I switched from the leaked version to the beta. And both of those names are in my "User Dictionary." Not 100% certain of this but pretty close.
  7. bizfox
    Offline

    bizfox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The above method works... I just tried it... :)
  8. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    ^ PERFECT!!! thanks, that did the trick :D
  9. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    This is my "pay it forward" moment today. Earlier today I had a perplexing problem with the K-9 email program on my wife's new Droid. Spent an hour searching for an answer and finally posted the problem here. Twenty minutes later another user posted the solution.

    BTW, I'm not affiliated with this site in any way, but a couple of days ago I became a supporting member. Considering that I've probably derived about $1000 worth of support from other users here in the four months I've owned my Droid I figured it was only fair to show my appreciation. I'd urge others to think about the value this site provides.
  10. DbNero
    Offline

    DbNero New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this fix didnt work for me. when i attempted it, it simply pulled up the suggestion box.
  11. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're sure you highlighted the word first?
  12. DbNero
    Offline

    DbNero New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cmon man, of course im sure.
  13. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    the question is..how do you know what''s in swype's "remembered words"?
  14. tyler918273
    Offline

    tyler918273 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It didn't work for me either. I tried double tapping to highlight and select text and both ways after pressing the swype key I got a word selection window.
  15. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    like someone said. you can only delete a word that you made swype learn. the built in dictionary, you cannot delete. yeah..it sux.
  16. FrancaV
    Offline

    FrancaV New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, all! Great forum.

    I don't like that Swype automatically adds words to its dictionary when you tap them in. If it didn't do that, deleting words from the dictionary would be a non-issue. Adding words should be a user choice. I sometimes tap partial words or typos when I'm editing and they get added, making a mess of things. Frustrating. I don't even know it's happened until they come back to haunt me later. I haven't been able to delete them. Will post separately about that issue.
  17. Blind_Aim
    Offline

    Blind_Aim New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2moro?

    Is 2moro in the Swype default dictionary? I try highlighting it, but tapping the swype icon doesn't do anything and 2moro stays at the top of my list when I enter a 2. So telling someone in a text that I'm not available until after 2 will sometimes result in "I'm not available until after 2moro", which is really a bad miscommunication lol.

    Are there any Swype dictionary editing apps?
  18. honeygirl123
    Offline

    honeygirl123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem. This worked for me:

    Go to settings from your home page
    Go to Language and Keyboard
    So to Swype "swype settings"
    UNCHECK Word Prediction

    That should do it. Hope this helped!
  19. MonkeyTime
    Offline

    MonkeyTime New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    They really need to allow modification of ALL of the dictionary. You can't believe how tired I am of getting ".gd" instead of " 's "!!! What the heck is it used for anyways?
Search tags for this page
delete swype words
,

delete words from swype

,
how to delete a word from swype
,
how to delete swype words
,

how to delete words from swype

,
how to erase words from swype
,
how to make android forget words
,
how to make swype forget a word
,
how to make swype forget words
,

how to remove words from swype

,
how to remove words from swype dictionary
,
remove words from swype
,
remove words from swype dictionary
,
swype forget words
,

swype remove word