How can i make Swype FORGET a word??

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by jcardona1, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. jcardona1

    jcardona1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    Ratings:
    +40
    Ok this is really annoying! not sure if it's a Swype thing of the phone itself. a while back i went to type the word "actg", short for accounting. now swype remembers this word and whenever i want to type the word "a", Swype inserts "actg" which is extremely annoying and frustrating!

    do you guys know if i can make swype forget this word? thanks! :)
     
  2. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had a similar problem and cannot find the answer on the Swype forum site. In general, it appears that user access to the dictionary is not well documented or available. The Swype software manages it and adds words but it's very difficult to look over its shoulder to see what is going on, much less to intervene.

    AHA! Found the answer... From the Swype site....

    "If it had been a user-added word, all you would have to do is highlight the word and press the Swype key. You'd then see a notification that the word was removed from the UDB. Happy Swyping,.."
    Franklin

    Franklin is the customer support guru at Swype.
     
  3. les017

    les017 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am pretty sure that Swype does not remember the word itself. All added words are added to the User Dictionary.

    go Droid Settings > Language & Keyboard > User Dictionary....select word and it will ask you to "edit" or "delete"
     
  4. jcardona1

    jcardona1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    Ratings:
    +40
    tried that but that word doesnt even show up in my user dictionary. ??
     
  5. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    not if you TAP a word out then press space bar swype will learn this word it will NOT be entered into the dictionary

    try it out find a word that swype doesn't know then tap it out and then try and swype it

    -=Jason=-
     
  6. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    I may be wrong, but I believe that only works for the "Android Keyboard." I'm pretty certain, for example, that I had to re-enter my wife's and daughter's names into the Swype keyboard after I switched from the leaked version to the beta. And both of those names are in my "User Dictionary." Not 100% certain of this but pretty close.
     
  7. bizfox

    bizfox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The above method works... I just tried it... :)
     
  8. jcardona1

    jcardona1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    Ratings:
    +40
    ^ PERFECT!!! thanks, that did the trick :D
     
  9. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is my "pay it forward" moment today. Earlier today I had a perplexing problem with the K-9 email program on my wife's new Droid. Spent an hour searching for an answer and finally posted the problem here. Twenty minutes later another user posted the solution.

    BTW, I'm not affiliated with this site in any way, but a couple of days ago I became a supporting member. Considering that I've probably derived about $1000 worth of support from other users here in the four months I've owned my Droid I figured it was only fair to show my appreciation. I'd urge others to think about the value this site provides.
     
  10. DbNero

    DbNero New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    this fix didnt work for me. when i attempted it, it simply pulled up the suggestion box.
     
  11. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're sure you highlighted the word first?
     
  12. DbNero

    DbNero New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cmon man, of course im sure.
     
  13. mach330

    mach330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The OC
    Ratings:
    +2
    the question is..how do you know what''s in swype's "remembered words"?
     
  14. tyler918273

    tyler918273 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It didn't work for me either. I tried double tapping to highlight and select text and both ways after pressing the swype key I got a word selection window.
     
  15. mach330

    mach330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The OC
    Ratings:
    +2
    like someone said. you can only delete a word that you made swype learn. the built in dictionary, you cannot delete. yeah..it sux.
     
Search tags for this page
delete swype words
,
delete words from swype
,
how to delete a word from swype
,
how to delete swype words
,

how to delete words from swype

,
how to erase words from swype
,

how to remove words from swype

,
how to remove words from swype dictionary
,
remove words from swype
,
swype remove word