How can I go back to the Stock ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Crazy, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Crazy
    Offline

    Crazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm a beginner with hacks on my Droid... but I installed the Sholes 2.0.3 thing and so far, I'm not liking it.

    How would I go back to the STOCK/Factory ROM? As if I first got my Droid.

    And since I already voided my warranty by using the Sholes, would I get it back as if nothing happened?

    Thanks!
  2. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Yes it would. Re-run the SM Updater app and choose to go back to stock or more preferably boot into recovery mode and do an advanced nandroid restore of the backup you made when you installed Sholes.
  3. Crazy
    Offline

    Crazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    woops. read post below.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  4. Crazy
    Offline

    Crazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks.

    I uninstalled SM Updater but I see a "Superuser Permissions" in my menu. How do I get rid of that?

    I don't want anything remaining on my Droid from the SM Updater so yeah... I just wanna make my Droid as if it was new... I didn't like the whole "rooting" thing... Thanks!
  5. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    You shouldn't have uninstalled the mod, you should have, like I said, used the mod to return you to stock.
  6. Crazy
    Offline

    Crazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I did by doing the advanced nandroid restore.

    Shoot... I might have a problem here. I went back to the recovery mode and did a factory reset and once the phone rebooted... it's telling me to activate my phone.

    Problem is that I'm in Bangladesh (my country) until the 28th... and I get no service here... unless I roam... help?

    Sorry for the troubles D:
  7. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    you need to download the virginoem zip file somewhere. it was in sholes website, but i can't seem to find it. put that in your nandroid folder in the sd of your card and perform a nandroid restore.

    edit: found it

    virginoem-backup.zip
  8. Crazy
    Offline

    Crazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Mach... but now I got locked out of my phone D;

    Because I'm in my country of Bangladesh and won't be back in the U.S. until the 28th and it's telling me to activate my phone. Is there any alternatives I can do?!
  9. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Nope, you have to activate with your GMail account. It's required, just like iTunes is required for the iPhone.
  10. Crazy
    Offline

    Crazy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I mean I can activate the phone with my Gmail account now if it told me to. But it's telling me to call customer care or w/e to activate the phone...
  11. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Oh ok. Not sure why it would do that. Maybe because it detects you're outside the country or something. I've never had to call customer care after rooting or unrooting. Can't you pick up a calling card and call from a regular phone?
  12. manilaboy1vic
    Offline

    manilaboy1vic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    planet earth
    you can activate phones online on the my verizon website.
  13. barcodelinux
    Offline

    barcodelinux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seriously?!? Why are people STILL starting these threads? Is the search button not working?
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I think people get into a panic about these things and just holler help.

    He really should have just used the sholes mod to return to stock 2.0.1. He wouldn't have had this issue.
  15. barcodelinux
    Offline

    barcodelinux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, if he would have used the search feature of the forums, he would have found his answer within a few seconds. For Pete's sake, there is a thread title "Easiest way to get back to stock.." Instead he opened a new thread, typed his question, posted, and then sat back and waited for someone to respond.

    Sorry, but that just really bugs me when people are too lazy to help themselves.
Search tags for this page
download droid x2 factory recovery rom
,
droid 3 factory rom
,
droid charge factory rom
,
droid incredible 2 factory rom
,
droid x2 factory rom
,
factory droid incredible rom for sd load
,
factory droid x2 rom
,
factory image droid charge
,
how can i get my stock rom back
,
motorola a955 factory roms
,

motorola droid factory rom

,
motorola droid global factory rom