How can I go back to the Stock ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Crazy, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Crazy

    Crazy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I'm a beginner with hacks on my Droid... but I installed the Sholes 2.0.3 thing and so far, I'm not liking it.

    How would I go back to the STOCK/Factory ROM? As if I first got my Droid.

    And since I already voided my warranty by using the Sholes, would I get it back as if nothing happened?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it would. Re-run the SM Updater app and choose to go back to stock or more preferably boot into recovery mode and do an advanced nandroid restore of the backup you made when you installed Sholes.
     
  3. Crazy

    Crazy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    woops. read post below.
     
    #3 Crazy, Feb 14, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  4. Crazy

    Crazy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.

    I uninstalled SM Updater but I see a "Superuser Permissions" in my menu. How do I get rid of that?

    I don't want anything remaining on my Droid from the SM Updater so yeah... I just wanna make my Droid as if it was new... I didn't like the whole "rooting" thing... Thanks!
     
  5. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    You shouldn't have uninstalled the mod, you should have, like I said, used the mod to return you to stock.
     
  6. Crazy

    Crazy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I did by doing the advanced nandroid restore.

    Shoot... I might have a problem here. I went back to the recovery mode and did a factory reset and once the phone rebooted... it's telling me to activate my phone.

    Problem is that I'm in Bangladesh (my country) until the 28th... and I get no service here... unless I roam... help?

    Sorry for the troubles D:
     
  7. mach330

    mach330 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    The OC
    Ratings:
    +46
    you need to download the virginoem zip file somewhere. it was in sholes website, but i can't seem to find it. put that in your nandroid folder in the sd of your card and perform a nandroid restore.

    edit: found it

    virginoem-backup.zip
     
  8. Crazy

    Crazy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Mach... but now I got locked out of my phone D;

    Because I'm in my country of Bangladesh and won't be back in the U.S. until the 28th and it's telling me to activate my phone. Is there any alternatives I can do?!
     
  9. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, you have to activate with your GMail account. It's required, just like iTunes is required for the iPhone.
     
  10. Crazy

    Crazy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mean I can activate the phone with my Gmail account now if it told me to. But it's telling me to call customer care or w/e to activate the phone...
     
  11. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh ok. Not sure why it would do that. Maybe because it detects you're outside the country or something. I've never had to call customer care after rooting or unrooting. Can't you pick up a calling card and call from a regular phone?
     
  12. manilaboy1vic

    manilaboy1vic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +3
    you can activate phones online on the my verizon website.
     
Search tags for this page
download droid x2 factory recovery rom
,
droid 3 factory rom
,
droid charge factory rom
,
droid incredible 2 factory rom
,
droid x2 factory rom
,
factory droid incredible rom for sd load
,
factory droid x2 rom
,
how can i get my stock rom back
,

motorola droid factory rom

,
motorola droid global factory rom