How can I ghange from one rom to another?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by droid_tlc, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. droid_tlc

    droid_tlc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I change from one rom to another?

    I have droidmod and I want to change to either BB or Ultimate Droid. What is the best way to do this? I tried putting Ultimate Droid on my phone it said it was successfully installed but when it rebooted the animation wouldn't go away.
     
    #1 droid_tlc, Mar 25, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    To go from droidmod to any current ROM you are going to have to wipe data and cache in sprecovery. In the case of BBv9 pete suggest doing it twice before flashing the ROM. That's shouls fix your boot issue.
     
  3. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    IMHO your problem is DROIDMOD EVERY THING DOES DOESN'T DROIDMOD DOES!

    people just download it and have NO CLUE what they are doing, they don't do research or ENOUGH research.

    there are 3 ways to load a ROM
    1.sprecovery advanced nandroid restore
    2.spresocery update.zip
    3. my personal Favorite :) Clockwork recovery *Koush's Cyanogen ROM* has bells and whistles other ROMS DO NOT.

    do some forum searching about all 3 methods.
    but here is a link for Cyanogen ;) CyanogenMod Forum -> Motorola Droid

    -=Jason=-
     
  4. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,243
    Likes Received:
    5,276
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,860

    The easiest way as said above is to download rom manager premium. It is in the same likeness as droidmod as far as the ease of installing roms. I just installed it a couple of hours ago. I also tested to make sure I could get back to sprecovery. Make sure you have droidmod installed to go back whenever you choose. I am currently runnung cyanogen mod 5.0.4.2
     
  5. droid_tlc

    droid_tlc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried rom manager premium and it is froze as I type this.
     
  6. droid_tlc

    droid_tlc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    It says I need Flash Clockwordmod Recovery so I install it but when that window pops up about root or something, no matter if I allow or deny it freezes on me and I have to reboot my phone.
     
  7. droid_tlc

    droid_tlc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    It finally unfroze and I now have BB. Can I got back to rom manager and download another rom like I did this one if I don't like BB.
     
Search tags for this page

5 n9880 change rom to another phone

,

change rom to another devices rom

,

from one rom to another

,

going from one mod to another android

,

how to switch form one rom to another

,

what to do before going from one rom to another