How can I create a shortcut to a Settings submenu?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by r314bd, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    I know you can create shortcuts to the main Settings menus (battery use, bluetooth settings, etc.) by just long-pressing the screen -> Shortcuts, but I need to create a shortcut to a submenu (specifically Settings -> Wireless & Networks -> Mobile Networks -> Network Mode)

    This is on a Droid 2 Global. Anyone know how I can do this? I have LauncherPro and I know you can make shortcuts with it but programming those shortcuts seems pretty complicated.
     
  2. FranklinWalker
    Offline

    FranklinWalker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it is so easy
     
  3. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Long press the screen and choose shortcuts and then activities. It will take a while but it will load up a long list, from there scroll down to settings and press on it. It will expand it and there will be a huge list of settings sub menus. You just have to dig around and find the one you need. Let me know if that doesn't make sense.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Awesome! Thanks :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  5. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Sooo I'm still having a little trouble. I can't seem to find the correct item on the list. I took a screenshot of all the available options under "Settings" and I tried the ones that looked most plausible (bandmode, Manage Networks, SIM network lock settings) to no avail.

    Here's a screenshot I took of all the available options under "Settings" in the LauncherPro Activities menu:
    [​IMG]

    And here is a screenshot of the setting I want the shortcut to:
    [​IMG]

    If you have any ideas I'd really appreciate it!
     
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll look into it but I have a question for you.

    What did you use to compile all of those screen shots in the first pic?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks man, much appreciated :)

    For the pic I just used Photoshop...opened one screenshot, multiplied the canvas width by 6, height by 2, and just pasted the rest in.
     
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks that's what I figured

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't seem to find the menu you have displayed. It could be because I have a d2 so a d1 user might be able to give you better assistance.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  10. HDTVsportsfan
    Offline

    HDTVsportsfan DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Between Richmond VA. and D.C.
    Ratings:
    +5

    Franklin, with respect, in the future could you offer more of a solution to an OP's question than what you normally post. It would be much appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  11. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks anyway...yeah this menu is most likely exclusive to the D2G and DPro since it is to switch between CDMA and GSM modes (My mom is taking it abroad next week and she just learned to text like three days ago haha) so I want to make it easy for her to switch when she arrives.

    Do you know how to use the custom shortcut tool that LauncherPro has?
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  12. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    bump
    ---------
     
Search tags for this page
add mobile network shortcut android
,

android create settings shortcut

,

android create shortcut to settings

,
android shortcut to bluetooth settings
,

android shortcut to settings

,

android shortcut to settings submenu

,
bluetooth shortcut android
,
create settings shortcut android
,
create shortcut settings android
,
droid 4.4 tools shortcut