How best to upgrade from Liberty 2.0.1 to LGB?

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by armedmonkey, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. armedmonkey
    Offline

    armedmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I need to SBF to Froyo stock and OTA to GB then flash it?
  2. Kasey Krehbiel
    Offline

    Kasey Krehbiel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    I officially request a STICKY with instructions on how to upgrade from Liberty 2.0.1 to LGB. There are way too many questions and I think they should be consolidated to a single thread.

    Koveleski? Mobile Sensei? JRummy? Anyone? Plz?
  3. bobAbooey
    Offline

    bobAbooey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sbf back to stock froyo. Install the 2 files from team black hat. Root froyo. Use d2 bootstrap and flash both files before rebooting. Reboot after install. You'll now be rooted and on 596. Then you can install v0.6.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. armedmonkey
    Offline

    armedmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What two files from TBH?

    Also, why the d2 bootstrap?
  5. kilahimm
    Offline

    kilahimm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    D2 bootstrap works for the DX on Gingerbread without a limitation that DX bootstrap has. With DX bootstrap you need to disable usb-debugging for it to work.
  6. armedmonkey
    Offline

    armedmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh, thanks. so what are the two files I need, and where do I get lgb .6?
  7. DroidXDoes4G
    Offline

    DroidXDoes4G New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its easier to buy Liberty TB donate, then D/L and install Liberty v1. After that, install v6.

    Clear cache/data when install v1, but not on v6.

    NO SBF NEEDED
  8. WAZZSUP
    Offline

    WAZZSUP New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    It took me 20 min's to go from 2.01 to V6 using the above steps. In the Liberty paid ( donated ) version simply go to nightlies and follow the directions for V1 then straight to V6...truly a piece of cake.
  9. armedmonkey
    Offline

    armedmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I prefer to do things the manual way. I'm glad it worked for you, but if it doesn't work for me, I don't want to be trying to figure out where it failed.
  10. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    You dx guys are lucky. You can do the entire jump from the toolbox. Us d2 cats have to jump on the monster leak, then the nightlies. Its just a little more of a pain. I wish there was a full V0.1 for d2

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  11. DroidXDoes4G
    Offline

    DroidXDoes4G New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, didn't realize that!!!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  12. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Haha

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  13. armedmonkey
    Offline

    armedmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sooooo... those files? ^^
  14. zman2904
    Offline

    zman2904 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA

    I have been through the toolbox, and have not found any way to jump from 2.0.1 to LGB am i missing something?
  15. armedmonkey
    Offline

    armedmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    How is it that there is no SBF needed? VZW/Moto usually upgrade kernel and radio drivers with each version of Android they release. If I do this, will I get those updates too, or will I be on some bastardized version like when we upgraded to the Froyo Leak?
  16. cottagevillebill
    Offline

    cottagevillebill New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm on the Liberty 2.0.1, but the only listing I have in my nightlie is v7. Am I missing something?? It doesn't show v1.
  17. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    I just made the jump to liberty gb from liberty 2.0.1 yesterday. Freaking awesome. I didn't think it would be so much better than Froyo but, it is. If you're on a d2 you need to get on the gb leak first before dl liberty gb. The gb leak can be found all over the forums and at droid life.com now I went to the leak then right to 0.5. I woke up this morning to 0.7 and it won't dl. This is not good if you're just coming over to lgb. I'm lucky I did it yesterday and didn't wait a min longer! Hopefully 0.7 will be working soon

    Droid 2 liberated gingerbread v0.5
  18. JerryB
    Offline

    JerryB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still a little confused about how to get back to stock Froyo from LB 2.01. I used the 1 click root on my phone originally, so should I just use clockwork to back me up to the stock settings and then click unroot on the one click root?

    After this is done what exactly do I do??? I install Gingerbread (but how do I install that without the DroidX bootstrapper. Once i have installed the two files (somehow) from P3Droid, am I able to root again with another one-click root such as z4root that I used originally???

    As you can see I am quite lost and elementary step by step instructions would really help me out. I'm sure there are some others that would agree

    Thanks!
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011
  19. Koveleski
    Offline

    Koveleski Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Use these instructions if on 2.0.1 or v0.1-0.5 of Liberty, in order to get your phone ready to flash LGB v0.6 or newer:

    1) Root your phone
    2) Install bootstrap recovery

    3) Make sure you are on Gingerbread 4.5.596

    4) Reboot into clockwork recovery
    5) Select "wipe data/factory reset" (this will wipe your device)
    6) select "Yes -- delete all data"
    7) Go back "powerbutton"
    8) Select "install zip from sdcard"
    9) Select "choose zip from sdcard"
    10) Find and select the ROM you downloaded
    11) Reboot

    And there you go. :)
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011
  20. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Not sure I follow what you're asking. There are step by step instructions on that thread where you got the files. You will install gingerbread in cw. Once you reboot, you will be on rooted gingerbread so you won't have to manually root with a one click again.

    Droid 2 liberated gingerbread v0.5