How accurate IS Quadrant?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Dknelson728, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. Dknelson728

    Dknelson728 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, I'm just curious about the accuracy of Quadrant for figuring out the benchmark speed of one's Droid.

    I stopped by a Verizon kiosk today, and went ahead and installed / ran Quadrant, just because I was curious about the result from the Droid 2.

    It did it's test, and came back with a result of 1.3

    Seems a bit high to me, maybe someone could shed some light?

    Cheers! :)
     
    #1 Dknelson728, Sep 23, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  2. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    ???????

    You're going to have to explain yourself a bit better, as Quadrant scores have nothing to do with GHz.

    It should be a whole-number score, something like 1300 for a Droid 2, IIRC.

    So, if the score was 1300 and that's what you meant by 1.3GHz; then it's just about right.
     
  3. Dknelson728

    Dknelson728 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My mistake, I have two thoughts running at once here. That GHz shouldn't have been there. ^^
    I was just under the impression that the benchmark number for the D2 was generally lower than that.
     
  4. OSX2000

    OSX2000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't think Quadrant is accurate at all. Check out the two scores in my sig...those were both done with the same ROM and kernel, UD7 with Chevy's 1.1GHz. With Stagefright on, the H.264 and AAC decoding tests get skipped. This results in a higher score, because the tests were instantanious. With Stagefright off, the tests are done correctly, so the score is cut in half.
     
  5. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    I'm not too familiar with the Droid 2; but it is an Android 2.2 device; and it has a 1GHz processor. I will admit that I am speculating a bit here, but my Droid 1 is also running 2.2 - and i've overclocked my processor to 1GHz. And I get ~1400 - so if anything, 1300 is a bit on the low side considering improvements have been made to the Droid 2's chipset.
     
  6. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    The true problem isn't with the accuracy of the benchmark; it's because the dev of the app needs to update it to be stagefright-aware.

    Synthetic benchmarks are seldom of any real use anyways, aside from "bragging rights". It is rare that a synthetic benchmark even comes close to showing real-world performance.
     
  7. harrellj

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    Quadrant is still able to be faked out though, there's screenshots of a CM6 running Droid with a score in the 3000s.
     
  8. rwking

    rwking Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's insane. I was also curious about this, and came across this thread. My Droid is coming back with results of 900 - 1250. Why the disparity? That's what makes me dubious.
     
  9. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are a lot of ways to get higher results in Quadrant than what you should be getting. A friend with a Captivate using the speed fix and OC'd to 1.2 Ghz is scoring 2300's. Granted the Galaxy S is a fast phone... not that fast. Did I mention that it is still 2.1?
     
Search tags for this page
how accurate a quadrant test is?
,
how accurate is a quadrant
,
how accurate is the quadrant for android
,
is quadrant benchmark accurate
,

is quadrant score accurate

,
passmark accuracy
,
quadrant accuracy
,

quadrant benchmark accuracy

,
quadrat accuracy