How about we get an original stock rom here to start things off? (I need one)

Discussion in 'Droid 4 ROMS' started by Joseph007, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. Joseph007
    Offline

    Joseph007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got to messin around with my D4, and accidentally rewrote over my backup with a backup with a missing file. Can someone help us all out with an upload of the original ROM?

    Thanks.
  2. quizzard
    Offline

    quizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you do a factory reset?
  3. Joseph007
    Offline

    Joseph007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like an idiot, I did a root and modded it, then backed it up over a good untouched ROM, so a factory reset applies a rooted, messed up OS. Please help!
  4. diablo85
    Offline

    diablo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Joseph007
    Offline

    Joseph007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it, tried it, but it is not in image format yet. I will be trying that later. I tried replacing the files that I thought I had damaged, but it is not working yet...murururrrrurrr........

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    What do you mean you backed it up over the stock ROM with the missing file? Do you mean nandroid backups?
  7. tdpolo26
    Offline

    tdpolo26 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    amherst ny
    another one bricked there are already a bunch on this forum i recommend against rooting or messing with the phone much right now. I mean really is it that slow or laggin you need it.... is there anything that really can be gained right now. Dont say tether... there is tons of apps for that.
  8. Joseph007
    Offline

    Joseph007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, don't be hatin' since I'm doing something you are not brave enough to try :p

    I rooted it because I use webkey. And I wanted to get all of the Vcrap and Motocrap off it. And because I dabble in Java. And because warranties are meant to be voided.

    But, back on topic.

    Got it squared now...I had Best Buy exchange it when i got done messin with it and low and behold, this new one seems to be set up differently...the stock set of settings like "enable USB debugging" were not on. The other one already had it checked...something makes me thing someone was messing with it before I bought it. I know the boxes are generally not sealed so they can do the initial setup, so it wouldn't be too hard.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  9. tdpolo26
    Offline

    tdpolo26 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    amherst ny
    1st dont confuse bravery with not wanting to mess with something that i dont have a way out of it, sometimes its better to be smart then brave especially because all your bravery did was cost someone else money (best buy). If you wanna know why prices are high people that pull this stuff are part of the reason.
    2nd you said And because warranties are meant to be voided did you tell the people at bestbuy you bricked your phone or did you just say it was non-responsive. you said it yourself you voided your warranty. I dont understand why everyone feels entitled to something... you felt you were entitiled to a replacement.
    3. if you had the best buy warranty, i take everything i said back because technically they cover it all. which is why i got it. The kid told me to get it if you root or anything and then just bring it in and just say it is busted.

    so if you saying i am hatin', i am i hate entitlement. You busted your phone you pay your way out.
  10. Joseph007
    Offline

    Joseph007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U mad bro?

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  11. mattlgroff
    Offline

    mattlgroff Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    I could make one if I had a Droid 4 to test it on. Stuck on my RAZR and can't test anything if I was able to turn the system pull into a Rom (which I can thanks to dhacker29 teaching me ;) ).
  12. Skrilax_CZ
    Offline

    Skrilax_CZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone upload these files from D4:

    /system/build.prop
    /system/default.prop
  13. B-Unit
    Offline

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If it covers everything, its not a warranty, its a service plan or insurance. The warranty comes from one source, Motorola (serviced by Verizon or other carriers)

    Now, yes, if he bought extended protection, fine use it, but to turn this in on a warranty claim is just sad. Mr Bravery loves to take risk as long as there isnt any and he can run to someone else to bail him out.
  14. Joseph007
    Offline

    Joseph007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, now that everyone is off topic, it was taken back under the standard bestbuy return policy...so no warranty was used.

    Now, on topic, what is suggested to be used to do a backup of the whole system without rooting it, since you seem to be very knowledgeable about non rooted devices.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  15. tdpolo26
    Offline

    tdpolo26 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    amherst ny
    True joe the offtopic is over... getting back to it
    what if someone made a stock back up image could that be turned to a sbf
  16. mattlgroff
    Offline

    mattlgroff Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Not possible with locked bootloader. Motorola Recovery and fastboot only take Moto-signed packages.
  17. tdpolo26
    Offline

    tdpolo26 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    amherst ny
    what about that razr developer edition you think there is any chance of getting anything out of that, that will translate to a razr or droid 4.

    BTW who has the sbf files would a local verizon have those. What about a best buy. I have lots of friends around the bestbuy field. I also have new friends in the verizon area. I fear they prolly are all at the motorola head quarters.
  18. Leapin'Leemers
    Offline

    Leapin'Leemers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes...he's VERY mad, bro

    But respect your elders (senior droids) lol
  19. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    can you point me in the right direction for this cuz i really want to build a stock rom so i can make one more like asop...
  20. mattlgroff
    Offline

    mattlgroff Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    I ordered a Droid 4 (bricked) from a great member and I should be having it shipped soon. As soon as fastboot files are out I can upload the new Droid 4 Utility to fix bricked Droid 4's and start getting out a stock Rom.
Search tags for this page

2.3.6 cdma droid razr xt912 verizon us fastboot files

,

can i buy howaboutwe stocks

,

does bestbuy have stock roms for android

,

motorola droid bionic original stock rom