hotspot

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by bigddyz, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. bigddyz

    bigddyz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just noticed I can use my hotspot threw the version app on my Sg3 . Called to make sure I wasn't being charged was told no. Was told if I have it enjoy it. Just wondering does anyone else have it?

    Not sent from a IPhone :)
     
  2. kimsj756

    kimsj756 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used mine too. Since Verizon no longer offer unlimited data, if you use a share plan, you can use it now up to whatever limit your plan has.
     
  3. kimsj756

    kimsj756 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or any plan other than unlimited.
     
  4. bigddyz

    bigddyz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh Ya I sidnt mention I have a unlimited data plan

    Not sent from a IPhone :)
     
  5. kimsj756

    kimsj756 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ha, then I dont Know. Haha

    Sent from my Verizon Samsung GS3
     
  6. PetRiLJoe

    PetRiLJoe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Opelika, AL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes someone previously mentioned but it is included in all the new plans. If you're on an unlimited data plan they will try to charge for tethering.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. bigddyz

    bigddyz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I am going to enjoy it till I see a bill for it so far so good

    Not sent from a IPhone :)
     
  8. dhaynes

    dhaynes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any apps that bypass VZW bs on none rooted
     
  9. swharshbar

    swharshbar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    State College, Pa
    Ratings:
    +1
    If your not upgraded to jelly bean foxfi is the app that works well for that.
     
  10. dhaynes

    dhaynes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone came with jb on it
     
  11. KaChow

    KaChow Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    143
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +143
    VZW HotSpot on devices with JB only works with Root through the Entitlement_Hack, I have a nice write up the Development section.

    Try this instead, if you want HotSpot that works pefectly do this. Your phone has JB, click on this link "Easy Root Komplete" follow the steps in the directions from 1-5 only this will (if you want to gain root, go further), first of all downgrade you from Jelly Bean to Ice Cream Sandwich and 2nd of all allow you full access to Verizon HotSpot (there is no need to pay for a Third-party app that has spotty service.) In addition would normally recommend to others, Motorola has an "Updater Service", this service works when an upgrade is available which if you downgrade to ICS, Motorola uses the Updater to send out pop-ups reminding you to upgrade to the latest update. To get around this, go into Settings> Apps> ALL> looking for 2 apps, 1) Motorola Services and 2) Updater; click on each one of these apps and disable them. This way you can HotSpot that works perfectly and not get any annoying "Update reminders."
     
  12. jaseman

    jaseman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    If my understanding is correct, the only reason to do this hack while on JB is if you still have the unlimited data plan wherein you "must" pay for the ability to do the tether...is this not correct?? If you are on one of the tiered plans this ability is already provided for you free of charge BUT it will go against the amount of data you are paying for. I see a great deal of chatter on this subject and think the hack only applies to those who are still on the unlimited plan...correct??
     
  13. KaChow

    KaChow Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    143
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +143
    The hack applies to anyone, and just to set the record straight. On ICS the HotSpot app is active by DEFAULT in which case, if you have an XT926 device that has ICS that is either non-rooted or rooted> doesn't matter you can use the Verizon Wireless HotSpot. With JB certain changes were made, in which the ONLY way to get the Verizon Wireless HotSpot (without paying for it from Veriozn) was through the Entitlement_Hack, which is simply done through "rooted" (SuperUser enabled) devices, more popularly through the app SQLite in the Settings> there by changing the default <BLOCKING Code> of "1" to change it to "0". I tend to look at this as a Firewall that Verizon put up, 1 is to block the ability and 0 is to go right through it. I cannot comment on how the plans are being charged whether it is Unlimited or GB data plans, and truthfully that is not my concern. When a problem or a control presents itself, I want to find a way through the problem, and this is how.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Actuallee
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    7,154
  2. my1jazz
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    754
  3. bfoster
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    806
  4. SJsRazr
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. BuzzKillBob
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    783
Loading...
Search tags for this page
can a samsung galaxy s2 be a hotspot on verizon unlimited da
,
can i use my galaxy s3 as hotspot with verizon
,
can i use my verizon samsung s3 as a hot spot
,
can i use verizon samsung galaxy s4 as a free hotspot?
,
can the samsung s3 used as a hotspot
,
hotspot app for sg3
,
samsung galaxy s3 hotspot verizon
,

sg3 hotspot

,
using verizon s3 as hotspot
,
verizon galaxy s4 hotspot