Horrific WiFi speeds - Droid X bug

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by Coldbricks, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. Coldbricks

    Coldbricks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    demonstrating my issue.

    interestingly, today at the mall it worked flawlessly on the public wifi. wtf? Either way, SOMETHING is wrong. I just dont know what. it is beyond me. I have more important things to worry about than fixing my droids Wifi. Tho, It is extremely agitating. I hope it will be fixed. I am ALMOST tempted to buy a cheap router from WalMart and see what happens. For the record I am using a Netgear WNR2000, which supposedly has a LOT of problems with newer N devices, of which the Droid X falls into.

    Good luck
     
  2. deranger

    deranger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The issue lies with WPA2 AES encryption. I set my DIR-655 to WPA/TKIP and it works flawlessly on Auto B/G/N.
     
  3. SaurusX

    SaurusX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing I immediately notice is that your 3G symbol stays on even when youre connected over wifi. My 3G turns off and disappears when connected to my home network. Hopefully that helps you out a bit. As a side note, im using WPA2 encryption on a netgear router on G.
     
    #15 SaurusX, Aug 8, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2010
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,867
    Likes Received:
    605
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +674
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Yeah I changed my network to the WPA/TKIP only and that seemed to work good, I am still using N as the speed and my 3G connection also drops when I am on WIFI.
     
  5. Coldbricks

    Coldbricks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. thanks that is a very interesting observation. ill look into that . I am beginning to believe it is my router.
     
  6. zamslam

    zamslam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't tell from your punctuation, but did you try "G only". That is what did the trick for me. I have a Netgear WNDR3700, and set it to "54Mb/s max" for it's 2.4GHz radio. Constant slowness/disconnects evaporated. Problems with N or multi-modes that include N seems to be a known issue that I hope they fix in 2.2
     
  7. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will try G only this evening. I am pretty sure I only tried G/N mode.

     
  8. goracer

    goracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to zamslam's suggestion, I tried something I hadn't thought of. I set my wireless AP to broadcast in G only. As soon as I did that, my X got 4 tests in a row with download speeds of 18-20 Mbps, and upload speed equivalent with what I was getting before.

    So if this information tells us anything, it is that there is an issue with the X's performance when connected to a wireless-N network. With a G network it seems to be a touch better than the Droid 1. Now if I can figure out how to tell the X to connect to the G broadcast, so I can leave the N broadcast in place for my laptop and other N-capable equipment.
     
  10. zamslam

    zamslam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have a dual band wifi router, you can have it use N for the 5GHz band and G for the 2.4. Worked pretty well for me.
     
  11. zamslam

    zamslam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For many folks the 5 GHz band isn't "best", because it's more prone to interference. If I am right next to my router, 5 is faster, if I am on the far side of the house 2.4 says "good" signal strength, while the 5GHz band won't hold a connection.
     
  12. zamslam

    zamslam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    (and have different SSIDs for each, though the X isn't capable of using the 5GHz).
     
Search tags for this page
does droid bionic support 5.4 ghz wifi
,

droid x 5ghz wifi

,
motorola droid x 5 ghz