Hooking up Wifi

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Twista89, May 23, 2010.

  1. Twista89

    Twista89 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok new question guys...I have my network setup in my house where you need a password to get on and you have to manually set the ip address...I was wondering how do you set the ip address in the droid as I cannot fully connect to my network...
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I really don't recall having to set up the IP address. Droid just searched for wifi and found our network, we put in the password and that was pretty much it.
     
  3. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    No, that's his question. His WiFi is setup for static IP, not DHCP, and he needs to know how to manually assign an address to his phone.

    OP, I'm researching, back with your shortly.
     
  4. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Got it. Go to network settings, hit the soft menu key, and go to Advanced. In there, you can enable static IP and all your network info.

    Hope that's what you wanted.
     
  5. Twista89

    Twista89 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    correct...it helps keep my printer from changing ip addresses every blue moon and wondering why the freakin thing wont print....Thanks alot...
     
  6. Twista89

    Twista89 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thx will try now :)
     
  7. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    I was having this same problem, and I simply forced my printer to request a high, unused IP address every time it gets on the network, so DHCP still works, and the printer doesnt fight with the 3 routers in my house.
     
  8. Twista89

    Twista89 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool I might have to try that if I turn DHCP back on one day. I was also wondering is it possible to connect to my PC and download music straight to my phone or is that not available with the droid yet...
     
  9. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    I just have so many friends come over and use my internets (30mbit down), that static IP would be a pain.

    Download to your phone in what sense? There are plenty of apps to sync your music library to your phone.
     
  10. Twista89

    Twista89 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess like with my xbox 360 I can just search for my computer and stream music to it wirelessly and I guess I was wondering can I transfer music wirelessly from my PC
     
  11. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    There are a few uPnP apps out there, but I havent tried any of them.
     
  12. nooter99

    nooter99 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any advantage to doing the static IP thing over DHCP? Is it a security issue? How do you do the static IP thing, do you have to manually enter the ip address every time you connect? I'm clueless when it comes to these things, and ironically my daughter just bought and hooked a router yesterday, first one we've ever had. I'm a little nervous about the whole security thing! How do I know for sure my network is secure? Lot of questions, eh?
     
Search tags for this page
hooking up wifi on driod
,
how do i hook my android up to my computer
,
how to get an android hooked up to wireless network
,
how to get my ip address to brodcast to hook my pc up to spr
,

how to hook up wifi on my droid bionic

,
wifi hookup for droid