Honeycomb on a TouchPad?

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by DSgamer64, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. DSgamer64

    DSgamer64 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the massive sale that HP has had on the TouchPad, I picked one up in hopes that I can find a way to put the Honeycomb OS on it, if not then just use it as a general media device. Anyway, I was talking with a friend of mine who is pretty knowledgeable about hacking and rooting hardware and he said that it's technically possible to install Android's Honeycomb 3.0 OS on the HP TouchPad due to the OS supporting the hardware inside. Now the question remains whether or not anyone has actually managed a way to get into the root of the TouchPad yet. I have tried searching to see if anyone has managed to crack the TouchPad and get Honeycomb running instead of WebOS but to no avail have I found anything useful.
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Thomas Sohmers is working on it via Twitter. He has uploaded the system dump.

    Sent from my A855, while on the move.
     
  3. battlemac

    battlemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Man that be sweet.
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,329
    Likes Received:
    1,657
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,799
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I'm following this as well. If it wasn't for the lack of apps and netflix I'd leave webOS on there. But am anxiously awaiting an Android port.

    end of line...
     
  5. battlemac

    battlemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Got lucky and ordered one today. Would be even sweeter to dual boot.

    Edit: saw a video of it from ZDnet running at stable 1.7ghz on webos and it looks pretty snappy. Would like to know if there is a way to have it run at 1.5ghz, but in a way that its also using less power than stock(like we can with our droids).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Dwyndal

    Dwyndal Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    can't wait to see what happens and if android can't port, i'll just use like OP said and use for media, i already gave my dad the nook as it wasn't that great of a device but a fun toy to get started. :palm:
     
  7. Chizzele

    Chizzele Team Sourcery
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I think a port is not a question of if.. its a question of when.. :icon_ devil:
     
  8. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,329
    Likes Received:
    1,657
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,799
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Link?

    end of line...
     
  9. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
  10. titanfan1017

    titanfan1017 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    so no one has done it still
     
  11. Xplorer4x4

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    CM7 GB is running pretty good on the HP so far, but still has some bugs I believe. Not sure of the status of Honeycomb.
     
  12. stillwaiting

    stillwaiting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    waking up a dead thread here but i just got one and curious if theres any progress on honycomb
     
Search tags for this page
android honeycomb hp touchpad
,
hp touchpad android honeycomb theme
,

install android honeycomb on hp touchpad