homescreen lag?

Discussion in 'Koush' started by paOol, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. paOol

    paOol New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    running 5.0.6.2 jrummy stock theme.

    i never had this problem before so im prettymuch hoping its something i screwed up myself, and will be fixed upon a /data wipe.

    i partitioned my sdcard to run apps2sd.
    wiped /data and /cache
    restored all my sdcard stuff from my comp
    then installed 5.0.6.2 jrummy stock
    enabled apps2d
    restored everything via titanium backup
    i also 'froze' alot of unused /system apps like google talk/voice etc.

    now when i press home, it takes me to my middle homescreen which consists of beautiful home widget (the old one before the cease and desist) calwidget and the astrid widget. i do realize this screen uses up alot of memory cuz of the widgets, but i didn't have a problem before.

    anyways, whenever i get to the home screen, i try to go to the left or right screen and my swipe basically doesn't register. it'll take about 1-2 seconds of constant swiping and then it'll register and itl'l take me to the very left screen or the last screen on the right.
     
  2. paOol

    paOol New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    forgot to add, im using helixlauncher 2.
     
  3. Alex K.

    Alex K. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe that it is HelixLauncher2.

    You may want to post this in the jrummy section, however.
     
  4. jhhoffma

    jhhoffma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Two things:

    Disable Live Wallpapers and see if the problem still persists.

    Enable "Launcher in memory" option in spare parts.
     
  5. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Does "launcher in memory" apply to the Helix launchers?
     
  6. Alex K.

    Alex K. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    you have to do a softmod to it.

    $su
    #mount -o remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    #mv /system/app/Launcher2.apk /system/app/Launcher2.apk.bak
    #mv /system/app/HelixLauncher2.apk /system/app/Launcher2.apk
    #sync
    #reboot

    then set the launcher in memory.
     
    #6 Alex K., Apr 25, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2010
  7. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    What exactly is this "mod" doing?
     
  8. SDI

    SDI Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have noticed with this Rom that there is time that when you press the home screen it takes a second or two for it to load and it completely wipes out the screen then reloads the icons? What is the cause for this does anyone know. I am running cyan 5.0.6.2 with jrummys blue theme?
     
  9. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is the launcher you are using, I can for the most part guarantee, that if you use the native home launcher, this will not happen.
     
  10. SDI

    SDI Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok what one would you suggest that has the 3D launcher that does not make the home screen lag?
     
  11. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, but as of right now, I don't think that beast exists.
     
  12. paOol

    paOol New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    seems like it backs up launcher2
    then renames helixlauncher2 as launcher2

    tried this softmod and enabled launcher memory,
    still getting the same lag.
    =\
     
    #12 paOol, Apr 26, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2010
Search tags for this page

ucc widgets do the cause lag