Homepipe

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by hydrolex99, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. hydrolex99
    Offline

    hydrolex99 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anyone using this app to remotely access your files and music? I like it works very well, I was just wondering what people are using to stream their Itunes since (at least in my case) all of my music is in different folders sorted by artist and albums. Any tips/idea?
  2. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    I must just have my iTunes library set up luckily because I access all of my iTunes audio through HomePipe and haven't had an issue accessing any of it.

    My iTunes files are in a subfolder of my Music folder on my PC. I am not home right now or I would give you the specific directory path, in case that would help. Sorry for not having a more complete/better response, but can give you more information, if it would be helpful. Let me know.
  3. onex1
    Offline

    onex1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just downloaded this today. It was very easy to set up. I have access to all my files but for some reason any music I try to play buffers for like 15 minutes before it plays. Sometimes it just stays in buffering without ever playing. Any help would be much appreciated. Using the motorola droid. Thanks
  4. kpiskin
    Offline

    kpiskin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was using it between a Win7 notebook I use for testing and my Droid. It does pretty much what I need it to do and is fairly unique as far as I know. The snag for me is that my main file server is an imac with a powerpc cpu, and they don't support it. They support MacOS Leopard which I have, but only if you have an intel based processor.
  5. homepiper
    Offline

    homepiper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have these computers networked and can see the drives on your imac from your windows box, you can create a HomePipe folder that points to a network drive (eg: a drive/folder on your powerpc imac).

    Click the Sharing/Settings link under your computer/shares in the leftnav on the web interface and then "Make Another Folder Available". You'll see all drives and the network.
  6. homepiper
    Offline

    homepiper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try contacting support@homepipe.net if you're still experiencing this problem.
  7. kpiskin
    Offline

    kpiskin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just saw this, and that's a good idea to try, but then requires me to leave two computers running. Might be a good workaround in a pinch though.
Similar Threads
  1. ucpro
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,611
Loading...