Home won't rotate?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by wkearney99, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. wkearney99

    wkearney99 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just noticed my Home screens won't rotate. They're stuck in portrait mode.

    Yes, I have auto rotate turned on.

    Apps themselves DO rotate. I can be in the browser and turn the phone and it will automatically screen accordingly. Same thing in other apps, they rotate properly. I can put the phone into the home dock and it rotates properly (Use the back button to exit the dock app). The Home screens WILL show up as rotated if I access them while it's in the dock. But as soon as I pick up the phone (keeping it landscape oriented) the Home screen immediately switches back to portrait mode.

    I can make it rotate by opening the keyboard.

    But it will not rotate the Home screen if I turn the phone. I seem to recall it used to be able to do this, am I mistaken? If not, clearly this is some sort of bug.
     
  2. whiddles

    whiddles Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah my droid one is the same way
     
  3. nyvideo

    nyvideo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine only rotates the home screen when I slide the keyboard out. When i close the keyboard it goes back to portrait. Apps rotate fine automatically.
     
  4. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Are you using a third party home launcher ?

    If so it will be a different settings menu that you will have to access to change the auto-rotate options
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Already brought up in another thread, no, unless you install a a launcher that is an app like Pro Launcher, it does not rotate.
     
  6. Panamakevin

    Panamakevin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, unfortunately, (or fortunately sometimes heh heh, i am on the fence about that feature) it was changed after updating to the froyo... I remember being able to do so on older OS versions with my D1
     
  7. phrozen087

    phrozen087 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I initially thought mine did the same thing where home rotated at first then stopped rotating. I think it may have just been my imagination in retrospect. I installed ZEAM launcher and now it rotates.
     
  8. ShellyDirects

    ShellyDirects New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same problem here. And, it IS a problem.
    If they changed it on purpose, that was a bad decision.
     
  9. bsubenvis

    bsubenvis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just glad my phone isn't broken. Hopefully they address it in a future update, not a deal breaker though. Anybody have an educated guess as to why they would disable it?
     
  10. danwanna

    danwanna Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always disabled mine when using LP or AWD in the past. I found that a lot of times I powered on and unlocked my phone before I got it in position and would have to wait for it to flip back and forth.

    I don't know if that is the reason behind it or not, but I am in the camp that prefers it not to flip unless I slide out the keyboard or dock.

    [EDIT] I fully support having the option to rotate though. It seems silly to not at least give us the choice.
     
  11. wkearney99

    wkearney99 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yeah, that'd be good. There's a bit of inconsistency in how rotation is handled. Sometimes it snaps right around, other times it's dog-slow, and other times it won't rotate at all (the home screen). The lack of consistency is a bit of a usability problem. One you can certainly 'live with' once you understand it.
     
  12. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    The only reason I installed launcher pro was to get the home screen to rotate.
    It works just fine for me.
     
Search tags for this page

android 4.1.2 home screen not rotating

,
droid x2 auto rotate stuck
,
droid x2 home screen won't rotate
,

droid x2 screen wont rotate

,
homepage won't auto rotate on note 3
,
note 3 home screen wont rotate
,
samsung gt-p1000 screen won't rotate in android 4.1.2
,
screen wont rotate galaxy s5
,
the photos on my galaxy s4 won't rotate
,
why wont the home screen rotate on the note 3