home screen always locked in portrait mode

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by nepkp, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. nepkp

    nepkp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have had this phone for 2 months. I just love the phone. it's amazing. But the home screen always being locked in portrait mode unless a cable is plugged in, is very annoying. What is up with the non rotating home screen on the Droid RAZR Maxx HD? I only can do it by plugging in some kind of optional cable and I'd like to do it all the time. Are they ever going to make this part of the basic operating system?
     
  2. snowman

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'd say the sensor in your phone is bad get it replaced
    your the first I have heard of this
     
  3. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,954
    Likes Received:
    3,819
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,303
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Download androsensor and post your results...perhaps someone can compare readings with you... so you can verify if your sensor is faulty..

    -insert catchy phrase here-
     
  4. PW_Irvine

    PW_Irvine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Download the Android Sensor Box app from Google Play and check the "orientation sensor" in your phone. If it's not working properly, demand a replacement phone. However, first check your Settings/Accessibility to make sure that your "auto-rotate screen" option is selected. Good luck!

    Sent from my Droid RAZR MAXX HD using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. tech_head

    tech_head Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Ratings:
    +267
    It has nothing to do with OP's sensor.
    The homescreen doesn't rotate unless it's in car mode.

    Dumb........ Motorola
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,954
    Likes Received:
    3,819
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,303
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    This I didn't know...so his device operates as intended...

    -insert catchy phrase here-
     
  7. snowman

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Ratings:
    +7
    Pw_irvine has a good idea I forgot about settings it is turned on isn't it?
     
  8. Yeti35

    Yeti35 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Utah, formally PA...:)
    Ratings:
    +27
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo w/ a Tech 21 case
    Home screen does not rotate regardless of this setting. Just how the phone works.
     
  9. snowman

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yeti35 then your phone is messed up and needs a replacement
    Verizon will most likely have you do a reset before replacing if you want to try this first
    but you will have to reinstall everything which sucks a bit
    talk to a level 2 guy at tech support they may have a better idea and it actually could be an app. that causes this
    they will take control of your phone and take a look at it, most of the guys are ok with it being rooted if it is
    they have never said anything to me about it I just unroot before I talk to them but SU and Voodoo are still
    on the phone and they can see that, be sure and hard reset before sending it back but root will show no matter what you do but it is a hardware failure
    so they are good with replacing it., good luck
     
  10. Yeti35

    Yeti35 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Utah, formally PA...:)
    Ratings:
    +27
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo w/ a Tech 21 case
    So you are saying your HOME screen rotates when you rotate the phone? Neither my Maxx or my Maxx HD ever rotated the home screen. As far as I know neither did my X. You sure you are understanding the OP's issue? My phone is not screwed up and is working fine.
     
  11. snowman

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yeti yes you are correct and I was wrong it does not rotate on HOME screen !!!!
    while in some apps it should sorry I didn't read well:D
     
  12. turbodave

    turbodave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    I'm not sure snowman is understanding the original question either. The Home screen/Desktop (whatever you want to call it) is not supposed to rotate. Nor are the subsequent screens that show all your apps/widgets.
    The only time the screen should rotate is when you are actually "IN" an app/widget.
     
Search tags for this page
android landscape home screen
,

android stuck in portrait mode

,
droid razr home screen wont rotate
,

droid razr maxx home screen rotate

,
droid razr maxx stuck in portrait
,
galaxy s4 stuck in portrait
,
home screen sends me to a dock screen droid2
,
how to fix a razr rotate screen
,
how to fix motorola stuck on lock screen
,

how to rotate droid razr home screen