Home screen after Update.zip

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by AndyMan, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. AndyMan

    AndyMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whenever I was updating roms on BB 2.0.1 firmware, my home screen would never change, however each time I am with the BB 2.1, I get an empty home screen and need to re-add everything... How come this has changed?
     
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    Because it's probably wiping data
     
  3. thatguychuck

    thatguychuck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this happens if your new ROM is using a different launcher as well.
     
  4. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You cannot go from 2.01 to 2.1 with a update.zip

    The correct way is a wipe and Nandriod install...
     
  5. AndyMan

    AndyMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Oh I know that, I just mean like each time I have updated since I have had 2.1, I have been losing my home screen icons.. They said maybe the launcher, I guess I am not sure how to know what launcher is used each time..
     
  6. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, that happens to me too, also when i MM it screws the widgets. Not a huge deal...
     
  7. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's the launcher. The last few releases of BB have used different launchers and/or different settings (i.e. number of screens). Even his latest v.06 had too different version depending on if you got the initial u/l or the later one added by Pete. Also the inclusion/removal of the live-wallpaper settings will lead to a 'reset' of the home-screen as well.