Home++ feels a 'tad' sluggish? Anyone else?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by TheCyclist, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. TheCyclist
    Offline

    TheCyclist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just recently have been fine tuning my handcent and Home++ and finally I am seeing that it just isn't quite as snappy as I thought it used to be (Just in page flipping and things like that, Apps are fine.)

    Any comments? or Advice?


    Axion


    p.s
    I am not running a lot of apps just Home++ and Handcent 24/7
  2. datguybk
    Offline

    datguybk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    same here, it doesn't feel as smooth switching between home screens
  3. TheCyclist
    Offline

    TheCyclist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you do the update the other day? It seems to have occurred right after
  4. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Yeah it's laggy...
  5. TheCyclist
    Offline

    TheCyclist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it just Home++ or what is it?
  6. slammin86
    Offline

    slammin86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep same has happened to me. It is also force closing a lot more.
  7. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    yeah for the first time(running home++) my droid was running like my old winmo phone. I uninstalled home++ and it was right back to being fast!. Its weird cause it was running fine in the beginning.
  8. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,710
    Likes Received:
    151
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Just curious, do you really need to uninstall Home++ or just change the default to Home?
  9. JCapricorn
    Offline

    JCapricorn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VT
    In addition to the lag and force closing, mine is also sucking up a lot of battery power even after I removed a few widgets.
  10. raven1911
    Offline

    raven1911 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here...i have had twice as many fc's than previous. Also seems much slower.
  11. sir2545
    Offline

    sir2545 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I noticed it force closes a lot also..since the last update every time I unlock it, it force closes
  12. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    you know your right an I didn't think of that. because thats what I did when installed just the launcher++ until they updated. Its a pain setting up all the widgets and apps all again. I may install it again since I forgot that you can do, as you said just change back to the regular home as default.
  13. korp
    Offline

    korp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could just change it back to the default home. I like launcher+ which I believe is made by the same people as home++. Its basically like a plain screen replacement that just adds extra screens .. up to 7 and doesn't lag.
  14. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mine is also foreclosing a lot. There has been a lot of updates for Home++ in the past 2 weeks... almost a new one everyday. Hopefully they will get it right one of these times because I love this app.
  15. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FYI.... try removing all widgets from your stock home.... as it still runs in the background while using Home++. I found this was a good way to 'speed' up Home++. I left my stock home with just the basic icons and deleted everything else off the home screen.
  16. FlipBack
    Offline

    FlipBack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Add me to the lagging and a lot of force closes group.

    Good suggestion. How do I get to the stock home after I have set Home++ to default?

    EDIT: Nevermind, found it.:)
  17. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,710
    Likes Received:
    151
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Well, I decided today to delete Home++ and Launcher+ - they are both a shell around the stock Home, so even though Launcher says it's Home w/o the bells and whistles, the fact it still is available, same with Home++ I just decided to delete them both and wait for the big update in January. If I read in the next couple of weeks that Home++ finally figured everything out, then I'll just reinstall it again. I've become quite the expert setting up Home screens the past few weeks anyway :) And, I have noticed the stock Home is much faster than what I got used to the past couple of weeks.
  18. datguybk
    Offline

    datguybk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    I just uninstalled Home++, i had to force stop it about 4 times today in 3 hours and a few times it was just unresponsive to swiping
  19. acturbo
    Offline

    acturbo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been using Home++ for a couple of weeks and got tired of the hangups as well. I also tried Panda with about the same success as Home++. I am now using stock Home until they get all the bugs worked out.
  20. hughesjr
    Offline

    hughesjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not having any issues with home++ ... I do usually power off my phone once or twice a day recently as I have been playing with boot animations.