Home + End + volume Down

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by kellydrennann, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. kellydrennann
    Offline

    kellydrennann New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the best place I could find for this...
    Yesterday my Lg ally froze and would not get past the android screen on reboot. I could get it to do nothing, after reading online here and other places I tried first safemode (which crashed after two or three seconds then I read about the End + Call + volume down combo to reset to factory.... Well it set it back to factory infact so far back in the factory its more like before they were finished with it :)
    Good news it starts now the bad news is the display is small and centered on the screen. It has no service and the phone status shows a lot of "unknows" see below.
    Phone number (Unknown)
    Model Number (Unknown)
    Firmware Version (Unknown)
    Baseband Version (VS740MV7.5210.1013)
    Kernal Version (2.6.29)
    Build Number (Unknown)

    So what's next anybody?
  2. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Um don't know a ton about the ally but is your device rooted?
  3. kellydrennann
    Offline

    kellydrennann New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was prior to the issue, I'm thinking the baseband is eithier old or somethings jacked up with it. Anyone know the latest version and how to install it.. I have been reading about baseband because that's really the only info I have in the about phone menu. That may be why everything else is "unknown" so where do I get the latest version or can I go to the local version store and have them do this?
  4. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Well the baseband is ur radio like for signal strength and all that might control like ur phone number being unknown but things like phone model and build model being unknown are controlled by the build.prop so that's like really strange they're unknown something obviously messed with ur device if that was edited did u load anything strange on to it lately?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. kellydrennann
    Offline

    kellydrennann New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was trying to update the youtube app when it forceclosed the restarted. I had it rooted sofor teathering to my laptop for internet service. Banacle required root so I used universial androot. So do you think there is a fix for this
  6. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Well it's still rooted correct? And there's no sbf for the ally so the only thing I would try would be to do a factory reset that is wipe the entire phone and then see if anything happens otherwise I would try to unroot it and take it back again I don't know much about the ally but when I get to my computer I'll do some searching for u and see if I can come up with anything as for the apps u mentioned they all are pretty trusted in my opinion so I doubt it was them

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. kellydrennann
    Offline

    kellydrennann New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I did the key combo it showed a droid with a box with an arrow comming out of the box and a status bar under him. When it started it shows the old desktop (like when I bought it) except the display is small and centered . I open the settings menu to view apps it says you have no third party apps installed. If I go Privacy > Factory Reset it says com.android.phone has crashed.
  8. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Well the android coming out of the box is ur recovery but the rest of ur problems sound really bad especially since it won't let u factory reset I'll do a little research for u when I get back to the dorm and I'll post here whatever I find

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Didn't find too much unfortunately and like i said i'm not very well versed with the lg ally i only really know the motorola droid but you said you get com.android.phone crashes when you try to factory reset? cause that's weird it's not the system that crashes but the phone app. I would try to install a new phone app and then try reseting
Search tags for this page
boot menu lg phoenix
,
how can i fix my lg 3d if it wont even boot past black scree
,
lg ally frozen android screen
,
lg ally screen not working home volume down
,
lg ally vs740 wont get past android screen
,

lg ally vs740 wont go passed android screen

,
lg ally wont boot on past android
,

lg ally wont get past the android startup screen

,

lg ally wont go past android screen

,

lg phoenix wont boot

,
lg phoenix wont go past start up screen?
,
lg vs740 wont load past android
,
my lg ally wont go pass the android screen
,
reboot lg phoenix
,
samsung home end down vol