Home button not working

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by drust, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. drust
    Offline

    drust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Ladies and Gents i have never noticed how much i use my home button until today when i pressed it and it did nothing.

    i get a vibrate when the button is pressed but nothing happens
    the vibrate leaves me to believe that the hardware is still working

    i was messing around with my phone and possibly messed up a link

    is it possible to reflash gb and reupdate to ota ics?
    i know after .905 with the leaks you could not

    ideas and input would be much appreciated



    note: search button is not working either
  2. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18

    when you say messing around with your phone do you mean files or settings ?
    No you cant go back to GB after updating to ICS.
    You can go to the link at the bottom of my post & get the FXZ file & re-flash it to ICS if you need to.
    Everything you need is in that link.
  3. drust
    Offline

    drust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Files
    Along with settings

    Tried a different launcher but it did not work
  4. lanza_david
    Offline

    lanza_david New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same thing happening here. Comes back after a while though. Another bionic ics bug I guess. My work around is the back button, although it does not help sometimes like when in a browser and you want to keep the page you are at.
  5. drust
    Offline

    drust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Mine was a mess up on my part.. i noticed more things missing or broken
    Ie: lower half of phone option menu (hold power button)

    Reflashing has everything up and running again

    Thanks sst45jeff

    Was the file i needed
  6. lanza_david
    Offline

    lanza_david New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You say re flashing, but I got ics via ota. I did do a factory wipe.

    Re flashing is not the same as factory wipe, is it?
  7. drust
    Offline

    drust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Flashing is replacing everything to the point that its like out of the box.. all mods and customization gone

    Factory reset just deletes data and settings. Edited system files would still be present

    Please do research and know what you are doing before attempting to flash.
    Sst45jeff's signature has a walkthrough but read it entirely before starting
    YOU WILL LOSE ALL YOUR DATA.. MAKE SURE YOU BACK IT UP ON EXTERNAL OR CAN AFFORD TO LOSE IT
  8. lanza_david
    Offline

    lanza_david New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks!

    So there might have been some conflicts caused with the OTA that seem to be resolved by flashing it, huh?
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2012
  9. m21knight
    Offline

    m21knight New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also had this issue and discovered it was a result of an incomplete Titanium Backup restore. I simply reran the restore all system data.
  10. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes this was a big problem for a lot of people. Flashing it puts it back to stock out of the box with ICS.
    Make sure you pack up your files on internal memory that you want to keep.
Search tags for this page

android home button not working

,
android home key not working
,
droid home button not working
,
galaxy s3 home button not working
,
home button android not working
,

home button not working android

,
home button not working on android
,
home button on android not working
,
home button on android phone not working
,
home button on droid not working
,
my android home button stopped working
,
s3 home button not working