Home button not working

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by tofasttafuri, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. tofasttafuri

    tofasttafuri Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I decided to flash the new CM7 RC4 on my D1 and after I boot up, I cannot return to my home app when clicking the home button. I can feel the little vibration when I press the button, but when I longpress my home button, the recent apps list does not show up. Thanks for anyone's help.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. josh_c_4566

    josh_c_4566 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It must be a bug thats still managed to slip through in the ROM itself. I am having the same problem, only my search button does not work either. This is quite annoying for me since I reassigned my search key to open my messages from wherever im at, and because come on, the home button is like the most used button I have.
     
  3. tofasttafuri

    tofasttafuri Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I feel your pain. But I fixed it by just wiping data/cache and reinstalling the rom. Seems like a major bug but no one has talked about it.
     
  4. returntosender

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running the leaked GB and get the home button issue from time to time. This morning I rebooted a few times and it didn't go away, so I cleared the Dalvik cache in the bootstrap and upon bootup it was fixed.
     
  5. JerseyFrankU

    JerseyFrankU Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Duh
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have lost the use of my home key - and am not certain that it is ROM related - the search key was not functioning when i purchased the rooted D1 and have had 'right side screen issues' all along - now migrating left -
    Question - is there anyway to re-assign another key (camera/volume) or perhaps create a widget or shortcut to emulate home? I'm running liquid0624 1.85 and it has done wonders to stabilize many issues on my phone - but having to back my way home - shuting down everything to get there-really-really -stinks...
     
  6. Drodisho

    Drodisho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tampa Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Look I cant use my phone at all without shutting down and now it goes directly my messages so I can't even see the home screen. I'm not as familiar as most so I'm lost. Any help would be greatly appreciated....but I mean like android galaxy for dummies type help...
    Thanks,
    Dixie
     
  7. JerseyFrankU

    JerseyFrankU Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Duh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help w home screen

    I've not had a lot of luck getting the folks who know stuff steppin up to help dear -unless the hint (by your name) of a damsel in distress packs any weight - don't know if i can offer much - but if you want to give me more details, Ill try...
     
  8. drust

    drust Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ladies and Gents i have never noticed how much i use my home button until today when i pressed it and it did nothing.

    i get a vibrate when the button is pressed but nothing happens
    the vibrate leaves me to believe that the hardware is still working

    i was messing around with my phone and possibly messed up a link

    is it possible to reflash gb and reupdate to ota ics?
    i know after .905 with the leaks you could not

    ideas and input would be much appreciated



    note: search button is not working either
     
  9. sst45jeff

    sst45jeff Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +59
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo

    when you say messing around with your phone do you mean files or settings ?
    No you cant go back to GB after updating to ICS.
    You can go to the link at the bottom of my post & get the FXZ file & re-flash it to ICS if you need to.
    Everything you need is in that link.
     
  10. drust

    drust Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Files
    Along with settings

    Tried a different launcher but it did not work
     
  11. lanza_david

    lanza_david Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing happening here. Comes back after a while though. Another bionic ics bug I guess. My work around is the back button, although it does not help sometimes like when in a browser and you want to keep the page you are at.
     
  12. drust

    drust Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine was a mess up on my part.. i noticed more things missing or broken
    Ie: lower half of phone option menu (hold power button)

    Reflashing has everything up and running again

    Thanks sst45jeff

    Was the file i needed
     
Search tags for this page
android home button not working
,
android rescue buttons
,
cant use my home button android
,
cm 11 fix home button not working
,
cm7 home button
,

cm7 home button not working

,
droid x2 cm7 home button
,
home button cm7
,
home button not working cm7
,
xoom home button not working