Home and Search Buttons Not working on pe5

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by doublea500, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    i have a droid 1. i tried to flash pe5 and it worked fine until i rebooted. once i rebooted, when i clicked the home and search buttons nothing happened. however they did vibrate when i clicked them. i tried to rewipe but i got the same result.
     
  2. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    if i recall from earlier roms's.. even stock really.... the first time you click on that thing, it asks you what you want it to do.. in my case, search the web or open voice search (i think.. been awhile).. anyway... that has to be stored in memory somewhere then so I ouwld think there would be a way to clear the data from it and then push the button, tell it what to do and all would be well.

    Of course, I have no real basis to back this up on, I am just trying to make a guess to give you something to look into.
     
  3. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    Uhhh I get what you mean. I did set it correctly though. Don't think that's the problem because it starts after I reboot my droid. Ty though

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    they're working on mine. maybe try to dl the rom again (in case something was corrupted) and reflash it (try without wiping first).
     
  5. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    You mean to flash it with wiping then flash the same thing w/o wiping? I actually made a nandroid backup when I had pe5 and after that backup that's when the problem started (that was the second attempt). I guess ill try your way. I'll also try to use tb backup and not restore the red things and spare parts and swype.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. K1K

    K1K Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St.Louis,MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had the same issue with every Gingerbread ROM that's out. Only I have to press the home or settings button 3-4 times before it will work.
    I have not tried PE v5 yet but will later today. I've been waiting hopeing there GB rom would solve my problem.
     
  7. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    well i flashed pe5 again and then the first thing i did was reboot. once i rebooted the Home screen DID work. then i used tb to restore my apps. then i did another reboot and the home did NOT work. there must be somethign im restoring thats causing this. any ideas on what it could be? i did not do any of the red apps when i restored. i tried flashing the rom again w/o wipe once i restored using tb. i have a new idea. im going to reflash/wipe and NOT restore the system apps.
     
  8. Riley

    Riley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    This! Every GB rom I have used including this one(best one) I have to hit my home key like 2-3 times before they respond.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. sonicfreak360

    sonicfreak360 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well try restoring one app at a time, and see which one causes your home button to stop working. Otherwise, go to every app you have installed, and see if there is a button that says "clear defaults". If so, try clicking it and seeing if your home button works!


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    i actually tried that and there were no apps with clear defaults. i didnt try the first part where i did it one at a time. actually restoring w/o the system apps, it works now.
     
  11. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    What app opens when you push the button? Perhaps restoring that particular app is causing the issue.
     
  12. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    Noo thatwasnt the problem. The problem was that nothing happened when I clicked the search and home buttons. Something in my system data that I backed up from another rom caused it not to work. In the miui rom, they actually say not to restore system data if your comming from another rom. It works now, and this roms amazing!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. Buster Nuts

    Buster Nuts New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had the same problem, along with several others (ie my lockscreen settings would not stick after a reboot, my homescreen would reset after a reboot). reflashed a few times, same thing would always happen. i was using tibu but only to restore apps and things like call log and wifi access points, even if i skipped restoring ALL my account info, i still would have issues.

    EVERYTHING, however, was fixed by NOT restoring any system apps/data whatsoever in tibu - nothing green or red. if something is not working, i'd rewipe and reflash and only restore market apps.

    the good news is you can restore your call log and sms msgs with these apps and they work just fine...and yes, they are both free:
    Call Logs Backup & Restore - Android Stuff

    SMS Backup & Restore Pro - Android Stuff
     
Search tags for this page
home button not working lg phoenix
,
home button not working on lg phoenix
,
home button on lg p505 not working
,
home button on lg phoenix not working
,
how to make the home button on a lg phoenix work
,
lg p505 home button not working
,

lg phoenix home button not working

,
lg revolution home button
,

lg revolution home button not working

,
lg revolution home key not working