Hmmm....BB 2.1 not working correctly, or problem with JIT?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Matth3w, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    A lot of my apps (most actually) are not coming on with BB v7. Touiteur, Homerun Battle, Root Explorer to name a few. The screen sort of goes black (with the title bar intact) and it pretty much locks up the phone.

    Can I disable JIT via the terminal to see if that's the problem? I'd like to figure out if this is a problem using Titanium Backup with 2.1 coming from 2.0.1 or if this is an issue with the ROM itself.
     
  2. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I uninstalled Homerun battle and reinstalled and it still doesnt work, leading me to believe this is something with JIT/the ROM/something I did rather than Titanium Backup.
     
  3. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    setCPU hiccupped on me when I started it the first time. I waited it out, and it is running fine right now. I didnt enable JIT, unless it is on by default.
     
  4. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I redid everything but then installed Chevys 10 slot kernel. As soon as I install that kernel and reboot, the problems begin.
     
    #4 Matth3w, Mar 9, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2010
  5. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Which kernel? I'm running the 1.1Ghz. I only overclock to 1Ghz, so the 1.25Ghz didnt interest me.
     
  6. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I know for sure that is what is causing the issue on my phone.

    - Wiped phone...no problems
    - Installed BB .7 via Nandroid...no problems
    - Used Titanium Backup to restore everything....no problems
    - Used the patch to go to Smoked Glass...no problems
    - Use update.zip for Chevys 10 slot 1.2GHz kernel...reboot...everything is ****ed up. So either the kernel doesn't like something on my phone, or who knows what else.
     
  7. mootsucks

    mootsucks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or it could be your backup conflicting with the kernel. Do the same, but install the apps from the marketplace without using your backup program. I have done exactly what you have done without the backup and everything (including the apps you listed) work perfectly!
     
  8. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I did that, it changed nothing.
     
  9. ilikefishes

    ilikefishes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    I seem to be having the same problems that Matth3w is having. I can get everything but the kernel to install properly. It has to be something with that 1.1 kernel. I am waiting out another attempt and will let you know the results.
     
  10. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I eventually rebooted about 10 times and it worked.
     
  11. ilikefishes

    ilikefishes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    How long was it held up in the "eye" mode when it actually worked? Thanks,
     
  12. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    3-5 minutes.

    I might actually switch back to the 2.0.1 rom. I'm still getting a TON of force closes.
     
Search tags for this page

hmmmbb