Highest Performance from Droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ihaveadroid, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. ihaveadroid

    ihaveadroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's up everyone, this is my first post! Please don't rip my head off, I've done a search and some reading, but I am not the best with computer stuff...

    OK I have Firmware 2,1/baseband c_01.3E.01P/kernel v2.6.29/build number Ultimate Droid 7.5

    What I'd like to know is do I have the best everything? Is there anything I haven't done that would improve my phone's speed/performance/abilities? I need to beat the sh*t out of my brother's iPhone AND his droid and he knows way more about this kinda stuff than I.

    I know I can speed up the kernel (is that how you would say that?), but I'm worried of hurting my phone. Is this even a legitimate concern?

    Thanks in advance for any help at all!
    -Bryan
     
  2. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like you did quite a bit of modifying for someone not "the best with computer stuff..." :D

    -Mike
     
  3. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    The rom is already optimized I am sure. I suppose you could flash the sbf to update your baseband version but eh....not sure it would help your performance any. Probably not.

    Need to beat the crap out of an iPhone?

    Simply open setcpu and crank it. ;)
     
  4. grinchy

    grinchy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lakeland,FL
    Ratings:
    +1

    +1 on that :)
     
  5. Moondonkey

    Moondonkey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have only done a little dabbling in rooting/installing roms, so do not take me as an expert in how to get the most power out of your Droid. I can however point you in a direction that might help.

    Greene Computing, the company that makes the linpack benchmark app in the market has the highest performance droid listed in their top 10 devices as 33.833 Mflops, it says that this device was running sholes 2.0.1/esd56.

    I have run linpack with my droid OCed to 1ghz running cyanomod and BB and highest score I got was just over 10, so I imagine if you can get your phone to get a 33, you are in the danger zone of hurting your device.

    Good luck with beating the apple.
     
  6. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    I doubt anyone got a legit score that high. Either it was a fluke, or a VM, or a hacked result.
     
  7. Moondonkey

    Moondonkey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know, it might be possible. Also, the top 10 indicates whether the device is a VM, x86, eeepc, Droid or N1.
     
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Believe what you will, but it wasn't that long ago that I read that Linpack was patched due to exploits :)

    If you can only produce the result once, or nobody else can, it makes it highly unlikely to be true.
     
  9. ihaveadroid

    ihaveadroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some of you guys put up a few really great instructional stickies
     
  10. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    No kidding. I would have never got this far without them.

    -Mike
     
  11. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been thinking about something. If you do a nandroid restore to say bugless beast or simply stunning, will that change everything? Or would it be smarter/better to flash to the ese53 sbf, and then restore to theirs?
     
  12. demon69120

    demon69120 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'll get a lot of mixed answers. IMO, Bugless Beast is the stablest ROM. Have you installed JIT? How far are you overclocked? Currently, I have basicly the highest possible OC (which doesn't work for most people, according to Tazmanian), JIT enabled, and BB 0.8 and I'd like to say that's somewhere close to the best. I would add links, but on time.
     
  13. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    Flash the ESE53 SBF and combine it with a ESE53 ROM for best performance.

    -Mike
     
  14. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    You only need to flash the sbf once, to get the radio. After that, leave it be unless needed.
     
  15. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    Ok thanks. I guess I will flash i will have to flash it later tonight... Quick question though. Once I have the 2.1 sbf flashed onto my phone, my nandroid backups will still be fine to install, right? I don't see why they wouldn't be, but I just want to make sure.
     
Search tags for this page

how do i get the best performace out of a droid x2

,
optimize droid x2 performance