Highest overlook speeds?

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by spiznastee, May 6, 2011.

  1. spiznastee

    spiznastee New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Without errors, please post Rom/kernel/app too!
     
  2. spiznastee

    spiznastee New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, for me, so far 1497mhz using setcpu on dasbamf 1.6, which seems to be the max the
    setcpu profile will allow. Anyone bothered to manually go past that limit?
     
  3. Jeyman

    Jeyman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did test out on bamf 1.6.0 Leankernel 1.2.3. It OCs to 1.92 Ghz. overkill by far. I ran a few Quadrant Standard tests and hit 3000~3500 scores.

    Im on 1.6.2 now and the kernel it comes with has great life so I see no point to OC past 1.4~ Some phones can deal with the higher OCs(others wont) Im lucky I guess, not that ill get use from it lol
     
  4. Raziel36

    Raziel36 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    1.92... works great. Using SetCPU with CM7 ROM and Imoseyon's leanKernel 1.92 extreme AOSP kernel. I usually keep it at 1.5 or so, but 1.92 is great when gaming.

    Sent from my ThunderBolt using DroidForums
     
  5. Its TwiX

    Its TwiX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Going past 1.4 is pretty pointless unless you are a gamer. The difference in speed is hardly noticeable after that.

    Sent from my BAMFed out Thunderbolt
     
  6. spiznastee

    spiznastee New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I realize this, I'm more just curious from a technical standpoint how much overclocking the cpu can handle
     
  7. blazednova

    blazednova Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it all depends on what your individual device can handle. i can run 1.6ghz perfectly with no ill effects at all; with dasbamf 1.6.3 and drods bfs kernel i get consistent 3300 on quadrant, and 60's in linpack. There are a lucky few who can run 2ghz stable.
    Technically the Processor was designed to run at 1.4ghz, but it can go much higher with the right kernel.
     
  8. amaury48

    amaury48 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. amaury48

    amaury48 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is Quadrant results of the above mentioned setup.

    View attachment 32983

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  10. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    To those of you who can run 1.92GHz without errors, when and where (state) did you purchase your phones?

    I'm trying to see if there is a correlation between the purchase date, location and overclocking capabilities. I'm sure there isn't but you never know because that first batch of phones may have all been able to run 1.92GHz versus later batches of phones released or vice-versa. I was a early adopter of the Droid (release date) and I had no problems overclocking at 1.2GHz. I never attempted to try 1.3GHz because not many people had success with it.
     
  11. amaury48

    amaury48 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I purchased my TB in Tallahassee, Florida about a month ago. Once in a while (after installing a new market app) I will experience a re-boot. I fix permissions in CW, and things run ok after that.
     
  12. Jeyman

    Jeyman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    about a week after release I bought my two TBs. I live in NY but they where mailed. I forget where they came from. I could run 1.92 GHz dont use that kernel due to battery life and what not.

    Only one is Rooted, ill be working on the second one in a few weeks but now my father(other one) wont let me Root his just yet.
     
Search tags for this page

htc thunderbolt overlook