Hi Im new to this site need help with Compcache!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by ZaChYmO, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. ZaChYmO

    ZaChYmO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone! First and foremost I want to thank all Devs for the great work you've provided and the sharing of knowledge,my special thanks to MIUI Developers, thank you.

    Now could anyone tell me if Compcache will help my OG Droid running w/ Chevyno1 1.2 gig kernel perform better? Or better off leaving it alone?

    Im currently running MIUI 12.24 only issue is very slow accessing themes alot of FC's other than that everythng works fine! ;D
     
  2. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    248
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +257
    Compcache is built into the kernel, and if I am not mistaken Chevy does not have compache with his kernels yet.

    But, with the little I (think) I know about compcache it has more to do with managing memory. So, I am not sure it will help droid "perform" better ... I notice enabling compcache help reduce screen redraws.

    Hope that helped.

    Sent from my Sourcery infused DROID
     
  3. ZaChYmO

    ZaChYmO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, like I said my phone works fine ill keep it as is unless I know 4 sure i can make my phone faster by other means, thank you much!
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Chevy has been unable to get compcache working. He may never get it working. You will need a new kernel.

    Compcache is a memory compression trick. It's great for most users, but some have issues with it. If you want to get it working there are things you can do, but you probably don't need it.
     
  5. ZaChYmO

    ZaChYmO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apreaciate your response! I know a lil abt compcache, I ddnt know Chevy1 wansnt equiped with it... I think imma look further to get a kernel w/ compcache but on the other hand I might just be fine w/ what I have.... eeeeh I'm learning thank you for your sharing =D
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    CyanogenMod 6.1.2 has MASSIVE compcache support with the stock kernel and a tutorial walkthrough for manual overclocking/voltage control. No custom kernel needed and the controls are built into the ROM for the compcache percentage.
     
  7. ZaChYmO

    ZaChYmO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great! Time to play! ;D thanks Furbearingmammal!