1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Hi -- I just joined

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by Popeye, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. Popeye
    Offline

    Popeye New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I just joined. We have two Droid 2 phones.

    I joined because I have a question:

    How do you remove unwanted Wi-Fi networks. I'm not interested in scanning availability of my neighborhood networks.

    Thanks.

    Popeye
  2. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not 100% positive but I don't think you can do that. You can just pick the one you need to connect to and use it and it should keep it in memory so it'll automatically connect when in range as long as the wifi is enabled.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. HDTVsportsfan
    Offline

    HDTVsportsfan Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Between Richmond VA. and D.C.
    Hello Popeye....welcome to droidforums...don't forget to eat your spinach. :)
  4. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not sure if this is possible, I just tried on my Droid and had no options to delete these extra networks, I believe it is set up like this so when there are open networks that you might want to scan for, all of your options will be there, but I agree...while connected to my home network there should be an option to not scan for any other available connections


    I almost forgot :welcome:
  5. Popeye
    Offline

    Popeye New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They tell you to save battery -- but how?

    More info regarding my question:

    On Droid 2, go to:
    /Setup/Wireless & networks/Wi-Fi settings/Manage Networks (bottom of menu)
    On that screen, it says: "To conserve battery, delete un-necessary networks from the list."
    Great advice -- but how do you do it?
  6. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,505
    Likes Received:
    293
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Long press and you should see a delete option...select and confirm if need be...

    Also, you can keep it from notifying you of networks by unchecking the "network notification" box under wi-fi settings...

    And welcome to the forums!!
  7. Popeye
    Offline

    Popeye New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After a long press, my only option is "connect to network"
  8. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,505
    Likes Received:
    293
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Are you in the manage networks screen or the wifi settings screen...granted I am looking at the screens on my X but I am guessing it should be similar. In the manage networks screen, when I long press, the option is actually "forget network"...