Hi everyone - upgraded when rooted on pro - need help!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by Goddessmiamia, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. Goddessmiamia
    Offline

    Goddessmiamia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Everyone!

    I am new to the forum (posting wise) and was hoping I could get some assistance in resetting my phone back to square one.

    I've already done a factory reset, but I tried upgrading when I was rooted and I removed CityID when rooted which I think is causing the failure on the upgrade. The only problem with this is that I didn't realize that when I did a factory reset, it would remove Titanium Backup which saved my backup with CityID on it.

    Not sure if CityID is the problem or if there is a way that I can reinstall a completely new version of the software from scratch or how I would address this so I can upgrade to the latest version for Droid Pro.

    Any suggestions or help would be great! I am new to the terminology so please dumb it down as best you can.

    Thanks in advance!
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Welcome to Droid Forums.

    If City ID is a system app then it is likely the reason the update fails. Did you make a back up of City ID before you deleted it? If so you should be able to download Titanium again and restore it. Unless of course you also wiped your SD which is where Titanium backs it up to.
  3. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,557
    Likes Received:
    319
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Hello and welcome to the forum!!

    I was going to suggest you possibly post over in the Droid Pro sub-forum, but it looks like you have...hopefully you are able to resolved your issue!
  4. SFGate
    Offline

    SFGate New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welcome to the site. DancingNexus
  5. Goddessmiamia
    Offline

    Goddessmiamia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded Titanium Backup again but it says I need root to run it. I didn't clear my SD card so if CityID was part of the original backup (which it may or may not be) then it would be on the SD Card.

    How to restore using the SD Card? Is that possible?
  6. Goddessmiamia
    Offline

    Goddessmiamia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you all for the welcome!!!!
  7. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    How did you do the factory reset? If it was from the settings menu or from recovery it should not remove your root. If you did an SBF it will remove root.
  8. Goddessmiamia
    Offline

    Goddessmiamia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi JSM, I unrooted the phone after I tried to upgrade and it failed because I didn't realize that the root would cause an issue. And I did a factory reset from the settings menu because I don't know how to SBF which I was hoping would fix the problem and bring back CityID. Perhaps I was wrong??

    Would you recommend rerooting, trying to run titanium backup to restore all files from the SD then unrooting the phone and trying to upgrade?

    Thanks!
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Unfortunately doing a factory reset does in fact not put you back to stock. It just erases any apps you downloaded, settings, or accounts you have on the phone. In some instances it will wipe your SD as well.

    You could try to reroot, run titanium, and then try to upgrade but I am not sure how it will go. The best bet will be to sbf and then try. I can help you later if you need but there are many detailed guides including videos if you decide to go that route. I'm pretty sure the newest update for the pro blocks root though so you have that to consider as well.

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_G-Nex
  10. Goddessmiamia
    Offline

    Goddessmiamia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need your help with the sbf, I can't find anyway to do it that hasn't been "blocked" from security sites or whatever. Even with rerooting the phone it still didn't allow me to run titanium....

    If you want to email me directly, please let me know, I'd greatly appreciate any help you can offer.

    Thanks so much!
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    You need help finding a guide or the files to do it? I know there are threads in the Droid Pro section, have you looked at them at all? Just trying to get an idea where you are and what you have done so far.
  12. Goddessmiamia
    Offline

    Goddessmiamia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah - I have dug around in all the newer threads for the links and guides and even signed up on a website that provides it but it was taken down. So I haven't been able to find a working link or directions on how to do it.

    Any assistance you can provide or links that are active would be great.
    Thanks again!
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Sorry for the long delays between responses. You seem to post early in the morning when I am already on my way to work and I work long days unfortunately.

    Anyway, I can link you to a guide on how to do it but I can't help you with the actual file. I could try but will most likely run into the same dead ends you have. I myself do not have, now have I ever had, a droid pro. The best way to get it may be to bump the thread you created in that section and ask for someone who has it to upload or share it in some way.