hey droid-ers

vagueGirl

Reaction score
Hi,

Total newbie here. Got the Verizon Motorola Droid and am still figuring it out.
Glad I found this site!!!

My problems/questions/confusions for the moment:
  • What is this "root" thing?
  • Will they make an Otter Box for the Droid?
  • About this tethering... can they really tell what you're doing, since I've read that you can rack up multi gigs per month just streaming and using the droid for everything?
  • When will we have flash?
  • Why can't I upload pics?
  • Should I stop asking questions now? :p

Okay, I'll stop... I'm not a computer newbie, as you can probably tell... just a smartphone one. And I appreciatre any help!

Thanks y'all!
vagueGirl

LtKen

Silver Member
Reaction score
OH NO. A GIRL!!! EVERYBODY RUN AND HIDE!!!

But for serial...

Rooting is hacking the phone for superuser permissions -- lets you do things the manufacturer didnt intend. I'm a big supporter of using your phone for a couple weeks before you start to mod it, so you understand how to use it and what's considered normal behavior.

OtterBox -- Maybe, the phone has sold enough units. There are plenty of good alternatives out there

Tether -- They cant tell, typical usage is anywhere from 1 to 10GB/month. It is techincally a violation of the ToS, so they can get you for it, but I havent heard of this happening yet.

Flash -- We'll have it when we have it. Likely sometime this year, but who knows.

Upload Pics -- Because you're not doing it right? You'll have to provide more detail for us to help.

Yes, this is enough questions for one thread.

Happy Droiding.

OP
V

vagueGirl

Reaction score
No girl droids? What do the boy droids do with themselves???
Ah... answered my own question I see. Clever girl!

Thanks for the quick answers.
Oh, and I meant upload pics from droid to... here, for instance.
Not upload to my droid, silly.

Sam

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score