Here's what we're getting in to :D

Discussion in 'Android Audio and Video' started by Jim 777, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,286
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +11
    So I convinced one of my riding buddies that the droid was the bomb. So when he went shopping for a new phone, you know where he went.

    So he also picked up the car mount and as I do with some of my rides, he video'd a ride but he used his phone! I'd be a little nervous about throwing my rooted $600 phone on my gas tank, but I think about it more now.


     
  2. BeaverPuncher

    BeaverPuncher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    as soon as I find a better mount from ram mounts I am all over this. I'll save 300 on a gopro hd and also be able to run a lap timer app at the track.
     
  3. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,286
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +11
    Nice, but those GoPro HD units take some pretty awesome vids!
     
  4. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a goprohd and yes they are amazing.... nothing comes close lol not even a 1500 HD camera lol
     
  5. Dunc

    Dunc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Go check out ContourHD. It's a better camera and the mounting solutions are better as well.
     
  6. mcsinfl

    mcsinfl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    x2, awesome cam, i have the 1080, now i need a better desktop to process. check out this software for doing overlays:

    DashWare | ChaseCam
     
  7. Dunc

    Dunc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's some sweet software and would love to get the data acquisition module, but good god not for those prices lol.
     
  8. mcsinfl

    mcsinfl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the software is expensive ($250 i think), however, there's not much else out there that I can find that a newbie like me can easily figure out. I'm using for atv/mountain biking/other outdoor adventures.

    I'd like the data acquisition hardware as well, but I am looking at using this for overlay data.

    Sensor Insider Pro for Android - AndroidZoom.com

    no data acquisition from the bike, but you can still overlay some cool info (all the droid sensor data)
     
  9. Dunc

    Dunc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's nifty. Does anyone know if the following is possible (which would make the OPs setup pretty much all inclusive).

    - I bought the Trackmaster app
    - It's pretty good considering it's only $4.99
    - The graphs seems a bit jumpy as though it needs a much higher sample rate or something
    - Is it possible to do a video screen capture so that the info. being displayed could be overlayed on the video of the ride?
     
  10. r1nstang

    r1nstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you say hes using the car mount? does he just have the suction cup attached to the tank?
     
  11. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,286
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +11
    I believe so. I think his Aprilia is pretty flat on the tank.
     
  12. r1nstang

    r1nstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm in that case I guess I should have bought one of them when they were $20. my R1 has some nice flat spots on the tank...although the ram air cover is plastic it should still stick