1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Helppp rom problems

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by Condel2011, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My d2 won't install custom roms right I click clear data and the other one but it just reboots the phone but not in recovery like its supposed to... what do I do???

    Sent from my DROID2
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Sounds like you're using rom manager. Do you have the bootstrapper installed?

    tappin and a talkin
  3. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No clue how do I know or check so I can tell you and yes I'm using rom manager

    Sent from my DROID2
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    If you don't know about it then you probably don't have it. Rom manager is useless on a droid 2 if you don't have the bootstrapper. Go to the marketplace and look for "droid 2 bootstrap" and buy the app.

    tappin and a talkin
  5. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay ill try it

    Sent from my DROID2
  6. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All that comes up is droid x bootstrap

    Sent from my DROID2
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Search either droid 2 recovery bootstrap or clockworkmod

    tappin and a talkin
  8. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay

    Sent from my DROID2
  9. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay clockworkmod launcher right??

    Sent from my DROID2
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    No, droid 2 recovery bootstrapper. Its made by the same developer. [​IMG]

    tappin and a talkin
  11. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay ill look

    Sent from my DROID2
  12. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay found it and bought it now what do I do?

    Sent from my DROID2
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    That app gives you access to clockwork mod recovery. Open the app and hit bootstrap recovery, it will take a moment and then a message will pop up that says success. The next thing you're going to want to do is create a backup of your stock setup. To do this you will hit the reboot recovery button in that same app, this will hoot you in to cm recovery. To navigate in recovery you use the volume rocker to scroll up and down, the power button as an back button, and the camera button as an enter key. Once in recovery, navigate to backup/restore and enter and then choose backup and enter again. This will start the backup process that will give you a safe backup to restore to if anything goes wrong.

    tappin and a talkin
  14. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay backed up now what?

    Sent from my DROID2
  15. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    What rom are you trying to flash?

    tappin and a talkin
  16. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ummm the gummy one but idk how to get it cuz I had it on rom manager. What's the one u wud recomend??

    Sent from my DROID2
  17. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I would highly reccomend liberty or gummy jar. They're both fairly bug free and I've run both of them for quite a while. Any way the next step would be to download your rom of choice and then get ready to flash it. Most will require that you do a wipe of data so you'll lose all your apps. To counter act this you can use titanium backup to back them up or just trust that Google properly syncd them and that they will all download properly after you boot up the new rom. Now another good rom that I usually mention to first timers is squidly as it doesn't require a data wipe and has selective control of blur.

    tappin and a talkin
  18. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What if I have all my apps on my sd card... and ill do liberty where can I get it??

    Sent from my DROID2
  19. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
  20. Condel2011
    Offline

    Condel2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm gunna use titanium and its sayin its unsupported on my device...

    Sent from my DROID2