1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Help

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by gmflyer23, Mar 26, 2012.

  1. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    I want to root my bionic tonight and I would like to do a backup of my stock 902 first. Is this accomplished by holding power and up and down keys at once, then going into recovery? Then I will do the motofail root
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  2. timmy10shoes
    Offline

    timmy10shoes New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    You have to rooted and bootstrapped or safestrapped first to do a back-up
  3. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    Ok im rooted, so now i have to put safestrap on my system correct? Then goto recovery and do a bsckup. Is there an easy way to put safestrap on the bionic

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  5. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    So here is my scenario, when i put my sd card in my new bionic, it already had the previous safestrap version on it from being rooted from my other bionic, which was running 893. Will that affect putting another version of safestrap on my newly rooted 902?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. dags5000
    Offline

    dags5000 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just delete the folder or rename it. Probably wouldnt cause any issues to keep it but removing it is ur safest bet

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  7. gmflyer23
    Offline

    gmflyer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HARRISBURG,PA
    Ok, Im rooted and I have safestrap installed and everything seems to be peachy. I did my backup externaly and that went fine. Now comes the fun stuff, I would like to mess around with some roms. I did freeze about 10 bloatware apps and the device seems to run fine without them. Everytime I download a rom, will i have to unfreeze those apps. Also, I would like to thank everyone for their help and patience up to this point. I will probably have more questions for ya.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  8. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    No the only time you should have to defrost your bloat is to ota update.
Similar Threads
  1. mgarney26
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    468
  2. JnnNicole
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    425
  3. kees.5
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    976
  4. ehreeahna29
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    729
  5. jwdechert
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,338
Loading...