Help

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by David522, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. David522

    David522 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I literally just got my TB, coming from a droid. Can someone help me root this thing and get a custom rom on it?
    Seems hard. and im not that savy
     
  2. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its not hard....just use the 3-step method in this forum, has step by step instructions.

    And after reading through it, if your still lost....not to sound mean, but maybe you shouldnt be attempting it.
     
  3. David522

    David522 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There not the greatest instructions.
    Do i need ADB download to root this?
     
  4. LadyAngler

    LadyAngler Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check out the sister site. Might be easier to get help for this over there. Is a little less busy and totally dedicated to Thunderbolt.

    Go Here and post for help:
    1 Click Root

    I did the long method and had to have help or I would help you. They will help you over there though:)
     
  5. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you need ADB installed and working properly along with the HTC sync drivers. From there its simply run the batch file for the root program and follow the instructions from the program. I cant really lay it out easier than what is in the root thread.

    There is a thread over at XDA-developers forum with a program that will auto install ADB for you if you cant set it up yourself, search around their site for it.
     
  6. David522

    David522 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya its not hard, but is there anyway i can check to see witch driver i installed?
    See if i have everything i need before i start.
     
  7. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    If ADB recognizes your TB, then its working right ;) But use the latest and your fine.

    PS- You can type the command at command prompt "adb devices" and your device should be listed if its plugged.
     
    #7 cpjr, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  8. David522

    David522 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it automatically find my phone? I have it installed and my phone connected with debugging on and all
     
  9. David522

    David522 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump
    I got all the drivers installed, open up ADB and doesnt find it? anyonee!!!
     
  10. WorldOfJohnboy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted mine manually. Watch to prep for the 3 Step Root or manual way. It is complete with Driver installation.

    Note: about 2 minutes in he describes the driver install. Either download HTC Sync (which takes forever) or manually create the drivers as he shows.
     
    #10 WorldOfJohnboy, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  11. Its TwiX

    Its TwiX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plug your device in through the USB. Open CMD. Change your directory to adb. Since youre not savy I'm guessing you're running Windows. If this is the case type: cd c:\Android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\ now once your directory changes type: adb devices. Your thunderbolt should appear there under devices.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. LadyAngler

    LadyAngler Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was an awesome video! Wish I would have had that. Thanks for posting. I will be passing that one along. :)

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk