Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by ronsullivan76, Mar 6, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. ronsullivan76
    Offline

    ronsullivan76 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll happily admit that I'm a noob and I NEVER should have done this. After having a couple of android fanatics puffing their chest out about how easy it was to toss Froyo on a phone, I tried it and now I'm stuck.

    I have a Samsung Fascinate on Verizon's network. I follow the instructions I found and now I'm stuck staring at some boot up and recover screen. What I can't do is select any of the options give to me.

    I'm starting at the following screen:

    Android System Recovery <3e> after using Odin3 v1.00
    All:
    I used Odin3 v100 to load Android 2.2 ROM

    I followed the following steps
    i9000XXJP2 Instructions
    1. Remove the battery from your phone
    2. Remove the SIM Card and MicroSD Card from your phone
    (However, since it's a verizon phone, I had no sim card)
    3. Place the battery back on the phone
    4. Hold down the HOME button, Volume Down button, and Power On button
    5. You should now see a Download screen
    6. Open Odin 3 v1.0
    7. Click on the button “PIT” and load the “s1_odin_20100512.pit” file
    8. Click on the button “PDA” and load the “I9000XXJP2-REV03-PDA-CL464213.tar” inside of the firmware download’s .rar file.
    9. Click on the button “Phone” and load the “MODEM_I9000XXJP2.tar” inside of the firmware download’s .rar file.
    10. Click on the button “CSC” and load the “GT-I9000-CSC-MULTI-OXAJP2.tar” inside of the firmware download’s .rar file.
    11. Click the checkbox next to: “Re-Partition”
    12. Your settings should now look like Figure #2
    13. Plug your phone into your computer with USB Debugging on
    14. Look at the gallery below to see if everything is going right
    15. Once done, your phone will boot up
    And now the phone Rebooted and I get the following message “update media, plase waite E:Cant mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (invaild argument) E: copy_dbdata_media:Can't mount SDCARD: you storage not prepared yet. plase use UI menu for format and reboot actions. copy default media contenr failed.”

    I can get my phone to the option above and I can still get to download mode so I don't think I'm "bricked"

    The options I have are
    Enter: OK Key, Select : Vol UP /Vol Down
    Reboot system now
    Applysdcard:update.zip
    Wipe date/factory reset
    Wipe cache partition
    Format internal sd-card
    The Volume rocket works to move between the above options but I can't use the “OK” key nor any other to select an action

    Someone please please help me! Even if I can just reset it to where I was before, I honestly don't think I'm far along enough that I can't undo what I did, I just don't know how ...

    I really really need a hand and will be eternally grateful for any help
  2. hoppermi
    Offline

    hoppermi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow. Um. you shouldn't have done that. You don't have an i9000, you have a Fascinate or I-500. If you can get to download mode then follow the directions in this thread http://www.droidforums.net/forum/sa...roms-w-root-new-clockwork-updated-2-11-a.html and install a system taht was meant for your phone:) Good Luck
  3. vmax76
    Offline

    vmax76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems as if you are using the wrong set of instructions for the Fascinate. The i900 is actually the Captivate (I believe) on AT&Ts network, which is why they mention to pull the SIM card. The Fascinate is i500. Therefore you may want to look into doing a Odin back to stock, and start all over.
  4. ronsullivan76
    Offline

    ronsullivan76 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Speaking very generally, is it safe to assume that I DID NOT brick the phone and this is correctable?
  5. vmax76
    Offline

    vmax76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a noob myself, so I can't say for sure or not? All I know, is that the devs constantly say NEVER to use the "Phone" button within Odin. Always use the PDA button when working with Fascinate(I500). Hopefully you can re-use Odin to flash back to stock atleast? Then you can start flashing Roms through CWM recovery from now on.
  6. vmax76
    Offline

    vmax76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. ronsullivan76
    Offline

    ronsullivan76 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    does an md5 file need to be extracted first or does it plug into PDA in Odin as is?
  8. vmax76
    Offline

    vmax76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure. I believe everything is included in the package? I've only used Odin once, to root it and flash Clockwork Recovery. been using Clockwork ever since, to flash any ROM I've downloaded since then.
  9. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you get into download mode?
    If you can flash this in ODIN after extracting it....when you download it it will be in .rar form, extract it and it will extract the .tar.md5 you need for ODIN

    Super Clean version 2.6 - EB01/EB16 Froyo leak root+Froyo Clockworkmod w/Nonvoodoo eb16 kernel w/ dummy tether module
    RIGHT CLICK AND SELECT EXTRACT HERE THE .rar file AFTER DOWNLOADING AND BEFORE USING(How to extract in post #2) -->EB16SC26_DXC.tar

    Heres the thread as previously posted: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/sa...roms-w-root-new-clockwork-updated-2-11-a.html
  10. ronsullivan76
    Offline

    ronsullivan76 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can get into download mode, however, as I described above, I DID already try and install a "modem" file to the phone. If I'm now trying to only push that PDA file onto the phone, do I need to somehow "correct" the modem file that shouldn't be there?

    Is there any way I can just wipe the whole thing and just factory reset it as it was out of the box? I don't even care about Froyo at this point (although if I'm in this deep anyway, maybe it's just as easy to install it).

    Thank you again to everyone for the guidance. Again, this was colossally stupid of me to monkey around with. Everything I'd read made this sound like it was a ton simpler then it actually is.
  11. ronsullivan76
    Offline

    ronsullivan76 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Odin is failing to flash the .tar file. Do I need to be using a .pit file as well like I did the first time around?
  12. ronsullivan76
    Offline

    ronsullivan76 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now Odin just seems to be staring at me at:

    "SetupConnection .."
  13. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    PIT files are not needed on the Fascinate to use ODIN
  14. Jerome900
    Offline

    Jerome900 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ron, did u get it all fixed

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  15. ireash
    Offline

    ireash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked better for me when I pulled the battery plugged the phone into the computer and putting it into download mode. Odin then kept going after that.
Similar Threads
  1. mgarney26
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    540
  2. JnnNicole
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    507
  3. kees.5
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,133
  4. ehreeahna29
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    812
  5. jwdechert
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,690
Loading...
Search tags for this page
mmcblk0p1 galaxy i9000
,
movinand.bin
,
movinand.bin heimdall
,
please use ui menu for format and reboot actions
,
remove sim card samsung fascinate
,
samsung fascinate remove sim card
,

samsung fascinate sim card location

,

samsung fascinate sim card removal

,
ui menu for format and reboot actions
,

your storage not prepared yet please use ui menu for format