Help

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by tgyberg, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +326
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    Hi, tried my first ROM today.. The new Rubix and I got myself in to a boot loop. I realized that I didnt do this step Wipe data/factory reset. I then read how to boot into recovery and did the reset. When the phone booted up it was now running Rubix. The problem is what do I do now? How do I get to my old info? I did the bootstrapper back up and did the titanium pro back up etc. I guess at this point, I'd like to just get the hell back to the back up I did just before I tried the ROM. Or, if this is normal and I can just continue on and restore everything... let me know! Thanks





    How to install:
    Download
    Place on SDCard
    Bootstrap Recovery via Bootstrap App
    Reboot to Clockwork Mod Recovery
    Wipe data/factory reset
    Select install from sdcard
    Choose zip from sdcard
    select rubiXFocused1.9.7.zip
    Select yes
    Reboot
    Enjoy!
     
  2. jellybean420

    jellybean420 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you did a backup your good to go. Although if it booted, redoing it and wiping data and cache will still wipe out everything. But anyways run the bootstrap, select bootstrap recovery and then reboot into recovery. Once you get into the black screen with green writing go down to backup/restore and then restore. Find the name of the backup select it, let it run, then reboot. If it doesn't say reboot when your done just hit the power button once.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +326
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    I do still see my back up file! Do I just need to redownload bootstrapper from the market
     
  4. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +326
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    That was meant to be a question! And thanks again!
     
  5. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes.. titanium should re-download your apps. If it isn't just re-install bootstrapper and get to your backup. I would wipe data/factory reset and wipe cache to be safe prior to restoring it but you don't necessarily have to..
     
  6. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, its normal for all your contacts/apps to be erased when you wipe data/cache. Just restore using Titanium Pro and syncing contacts again.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  7. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +326
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    So if I do the wipe again I should still have my backup in the clockwork folder? Would I loose anything at all? Thanks again!
     
  8. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +326
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    Just to I'm clear, in bootstrap, do the wipe date/factory reset and then the wipe cache partition and then restore?
     
  9. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes.. Go for it
     
  10. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before you start to worry. It will take a little bit of time to restore it. DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT pull the battery or try and turn the phone off! You will be done in about 6 minutes.. If you pull the battery it will be bad news. .
     
  11. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +326
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    Whew! I'm back!! That is slick! Thanks tons again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:icon_ banana:
     
  12. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should be getting close to being done.. Everything working out ok?