1. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Try a different USB port.
     
  2. MrsRaetzel09

    MrsRaetzel09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The South
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, and it doesn't say 2C.7C. It says 2C.6C.
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    So you're still on FRG01B. Interesting. Just out of curiosity, was the install you had rooted?

    If using all the USB ports on the PC don't allow you to click start there are other options for getting it to work, though if you have access to another computer it might just be a lot faster and less frustrating to try it on that one. :)
     
  4. MrsRaetzel09

    MrsRaetzel09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The South
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only other computer I have access to is really sucky lol...but my cousin figured the phone may have been rooted or something cause it has superuser permissions on it...I just want to send the phone back to factory settings so I can have my gmail account as the main one...it won't factory reset or let me remove the other users account...
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    I remember that. I'm asking because if you're rooted there are other options we can do. It depends on what recovery image you have.

    Boot into recovery and tell me if you get a triangle with a ! in it or if it boots right to a menu.
     
  6. MrsRaetzel09

    MrsRaetzel09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The South
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I do that?
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Power the phone down. Slide out the keyboard, press and hold X. Do not let go of that X till you’ve booted into recovery. Power the phone up. Do not let go of that X till you’ve booted into recovery. Once you're in recovery you can let go of the X.
     
  8. MrsRaetzel09

    MrsRaetzel09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The South
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive tried that before too and it always does the same thing. Im trying it now and it never leaves the Motorola symbol screen. It will flash to a blank screen after so long but then it goes right back to the Motorola symbol screen.
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Okay, so not only is your phone rooted, but it's a bad root. Check the app drawer for an app called "ROM Manager".
     
  10. MrsRaetzel09

    MrsRaetzel09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The South
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats not there...
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well, with apologies for how long this has been taking, I think we may be seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. :)

    So, to clarify, when you said that the factory reset wouldn't work, you were doing it from the settings, and when you tried to do it manually it wouldn't work because your phone bootlooped on the M. Makes sense now.

    Go to the market and download ROM Manager. Install it, open it, scroll to the bottom, attempt to Flash Alternate Recovery. If you can't then go back to the top, flash Clockwork Recovery, then go back down and flash alternate recovery. I want SPRecovery on that phone for the next couple of steps. :)
     
  12. MrsRaetzel09

    MrsRaetzel09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The South
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't log into the android market. The original owner of this phone has his email linked to it and it asks for the password which I don't have and of course he will not give.
     
  13. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Right.

    My apologies, I forgot that part. That's okay, though, because you can download and install ROM Manager from another source, provided you have Astro working. If not we'll have to find you another one.

    Download this directly to your phone.

    http://koush.tandtgaming.com//recoveries/RomManager.apk

    Assuming it downloads okay we'll figure out how to get it installed. :) If it doesn't we'll see about getting something on there so we can get it installed. :D
     
  14. MrsRaetzel09

    MrsRaetzel09 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The South
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for all your help!!! The application is installed now :))
     
  15. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    SWEET! :woot::woot::woot:

    Now, open it, scroll to the bottom, attempt to Flash Alternate Recovery. If you can't then go back to the top, flash Clockwork Recovery, then go back down and flash alternate recovery. I want SPRecovery on that phone for the next couple of steps. :)
     
Similar Threads
  1. mgarney26
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    552
  2. JnnNicole
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    525
  3. kees.5
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  4. ehreeahna29
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    825
  5. jwdechert
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
Loading...