Help! Wrong location -> time, weather, etc

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by freddie, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. freddie
    Offline

    freddie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Posting this from Incredibleforum, as I might get more help here..
    All of the sudden, my phone shows an incorrect time and location. I've had the phone since release day without a problem. Sometime this morning, apparently on my drive to work, it stopped functioning correctly.

    If I open Google Maps without GPS enabled, it shows that my location is somewhere on the west coast of Africa., south of Nigeria,... A country named Gabon. I assume that is why my phone's time is wrong. Its off by 5 hours. My weather widgets are also giving me the forecast for that location, and not my current location.

    I've spoke with Verizon, they suggest a hard reset, but I'm hoping thats not necessary. I've done battery pulls, checked settings, etc.

    The phone DOES get the correct location if I have GPS enabled, but only then. As soon as I disable GPS, the widgets update with the mobile network's location, which is in Africa.

    Any advice?
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try this:

    Place the phone in "Safe Mode"
    How?

    1. open the Qwerty Key board press and hold the menu key on the key board and the power key.
    the phone will shut down.
    When it comes back on it will display safe mode at the bottom of the screen
    2. check the calendar and see if it is showing right time now.
    3. to remove safe mode just power cycle the phone again
  3. zMd113
    Offline

    zMd113 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Maybe someone wanted to play a very cruel joke on you. I have no idea, if you yourself messed around with the settings then it should be ok, assuming you know what to do which it sounds like you do. If the hard rest doesn't do anything get a replacement if Verison let's you I have no clue.
  4. freddie
    Offline

    freddie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Call me crazy but for the life of me I can't get my phone to reset in safe mode like this
  5. zMd113
    Offline

    zMd113 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    I think that guy has a MOTO Droid, not the Incredible so it may be different.
  6. freddie
    Offline

    freddie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I did find a method to boot in safe mode but that didn't work

    Edit: as in the problem still occurred
  7. freddie
    Offline

    freddie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well.. as soon as I left work it fixed itself..
  8. Rich734
    Offline

    Rich734 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had my Inc for about 1.5 months now and have had this same problem for about a month. The weather/time shows in the neighboring eastern time zone about 200 miles away as opposed to where I actually am. I finally called Verizon about 2 weeks ago @611 and told them of the problem. They seemed to be unaware of this. By coincidence I was in the Orlando area the past week and, of course, everything worked fine there. Now that I'm back home, everything magically seems to work fine. Don't know if Verizon actually did something to fix this or if it is really just "luck". If you're still having problems, I'd suggest calling Verizon - frequently - until the problem gets recognized and fixed once and for all. I don't think it's a phone problem - I believe it's a Verizon network/tower problem. A friend who has a Moto driod has the same problem.
  9. freddie
    Offline

    freddie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I figured it was likely a network problem.

    I haven't been back to that building today for work to see if it will do it again today or not
  10. lizm
    Offline

    lizm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A friend told me her phone has been stuck on a another city ever since she visted it two weeks ago.

    Mine occasionally - only lately - gets stuck on a city I've been to as well, GPS on and everything. Today I fixed it by deleting the city showing as my location - that seemed to force it to see where i really am.
  11. Shennie
    Offline

    Shennie New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Whenever I am home it always says I am in a town about 150 miles from here. It is correct if I am more than a few miles from home, but not at my house. I will try deleting as suggested above and see what happens.
  12. jpbellis
    Offline

    jpbellis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon MUST know about this issue

    There are a growing number of posts out there referencing Droids reporting seriously wrong locations. Mine was off by 900 miles. I live in CT and it has me outside of Chicago. I've been down all the hard reset and safe mode roads. Verizon tech support acted like they never heard it before and connected me to Motorola... Motorola tech support suggested a replacement device and Verizon agreed... They sent me a new droid and .... guess what ... ITS WRONG TOO. Same issue. I've cleared data and discovered that if you have GPS off it reports wrong (aka tower reporting issues) turn the GPS on and :in some cases: it'll override and report correctly... however if you want to conserve battery life and leave the GPS off it'll be wrong. This manifests itself in wrong mapping, navigation, weather apps and gadgets, news ... and most importantly 911 locator services....

    Verizon will fess up and admit a problem when some one gets into an unfortunate accident and calls 911 ... And an ambulance gets dispatched to a location 1000 miles away....
  13. gsmuhler
    Offline

    gsmuhler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I live in Baltimore, from time to time the phone tells me I am in a town in Texas.
  14. riko540
    Offline

    riko540 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I had this same problem for a few hours at where I work. It thought I was in Nigeria. I think it has something to do with the phone not getting a good signal at the time it refreshes the location.
  15. jiggapoo
    Offline

    jiggapoo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep...

    Droid Incredible. Same problem. I'm in TN and it thinks (on a regular basis) that I'm in Chongqing, China. But this is funny because I Google Map'd how to get there. Hilarious! One of the steps is to kayak across the Pacific Ocean.
  16. SeeEss
    Offline

    SeeEss New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    You must be in a weird Bermuda Triangle type area. Or maybe an incredibly strong pull (no pun intended). I would be interested to know if, when you went to work the next day, the same thing happens... dancedroid
  17. SeeEss
    Offline

    SeeEss New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    The weather on MY phone won't recognize Santa Monica, California. REALLY???? :icon_eek:
  18. tigerdango
    Offline

    tigerdango New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Yeah kind of weird. Mine had the wrong location once and I went to weather and sync'd and it went back to my proper city.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  19. cartisdm
    Offline

    cartisdm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  20. RUSHgsxr
    Offline

    RUSHgsxr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I live out in the sticks of Iowa and it plain just doesn't know my town. Usually it says one of 2 towns over a hundred miles away, even when my gps is on and maps shows exactly where i am, smack in the middle of town. Or sometimes it'll just say current location, lol, apparently we're not big enough to bother to list the name. ah well.

    In a little po dunk town like this i can deal with it, but when i was living in KC it would have driven me nuts.
Search tags for this page
droid incredible 2 location wrong
,
droid incredible 2 shows wrong location on wifi
,

droid incredible weather location wrong

,
droid phone shows wrong location
,
google voice tells me wrong weather but right location
,
motorola droid showing the wrong time
,
verizon phone showing wrong location
,
why does msn mobile show wrong location for weather
,
why does my android say wrong location
,

why does my phone show wrong location

,
why does my thnderbolt phone show the wrong location for my
,

why does verizon phone show wrong weather location

,
why is the time wrong on my verizon phone
,
wrong location on droid incredible
,

yahoo droud weather stuck on wrong city