help with this bootanimation

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by turdbogls, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    ok, so i took a confirmed working modded atrix bootanimation and unzipped it, modified the images writing over top of those images not changing the name of them. then zipped it back up and installed it in data/local just like other animations i have done, and i get nothing. can one of you bootanimation gurus take a look and let me know what i did wrong?

    thanks
    View attachment 29994

    and yes i renamed it with the correct spelling after i copied it over. :)
  2. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    set compression level to store when zipping.

    Edit: Did it for you, worked fine on my phone :)

    View attachment 29996
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  3. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    WTF...didn't work for me. I just dont get it...lol

    I have done it in the past....i am not special I sweae

    This message was probably sent from the can
  4. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you re-zip it or use mine? And what directory are you putting it in?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Just downloaded yours, renamed to and placed in data/local

    This message was probably sent from the can
  6. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok now I'm stumped lol. I just downloaded mine directly from the app to my phone, moved and renamed and it worked just fine. Can you get any other animations to work? Might be something got messed up on your phone. Idk :/

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  7. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Just downloaded the stock droid X animation and got it to work. i am very confused. maybe the other location would work....is that system/media?
  8. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya... it checks data/local first tho so make sure there isn't one there. Wish I knew why data/local isn't working tho. That's gonna bug me lol. The animation is a little unusual, I haven't used a part folder that started with a number but I don't think that should matter as long as it's called correctly in the desc.txt. One other thing I noticed was that each of the part folders also contained a thumbs.db. I haven't seen that before but like I said it works on my phone so idk.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  9. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    dont beat yourself up over it too much. its not a big deal. still weird that it works for you but not me. i just DL it to my computer, going to move over to SD then to data/local and see if that works. i may have put in in my dropbox (cant remember if i did that or just DL from the app or browser) and i think that does funny stuff to image files....i dunno....just fishing i guess :)
  10. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya boot animations seem to be pretty touchy. I did one for mine that worked fine until the looping part, then it played the first time through at normal speed, but after that started playing at double speed. Now every animation I put on does that... after the first time through the loop, kicks into high gear. Really bugs me, not so much because it does it, but because it shouldn't do it, if that makes any sense :/ I'm planning to maderstcok when the new liberty comes out, hoping that'll fix it.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  11. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    interesting. i gave it another go by DLing it on the computer and moving it over but still a no go..i guess it just wasn't meant to be :( i appreciate your help tho.
  12. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry I couldn't be more help...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  13. Perky69
    Offline

    Perky69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Plains Missouri
    I have the rotting apple boot animation and cannot get it to work with gingerbread, but it worked perfectly with liberty 1.5 by flashing it in recovery. Just locks up in recovery after gingerbread. Is there a manual to load it?
  14. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Extract the bootanimation.zip file from the flashable zip and copy it to /data/local using root explorer.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, make sure to rename or delete any other bootanimation.zip in data/local, if there is one. The one you put in has to be named bootanimation.zip exactly.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  16. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The stock boot animation is in system/media. The boot process checks data/local first so placing it there is all you need to do. If you ever want to go back to the stock animation just delete the one in data/local.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  17. Perky69
    Offline

    Perky69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Plains Missouri
    Thanks for your help.
  18. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your welcome

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

bootanimat