Help with Swype

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by r-dubya, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. r-dubya

    r-dubya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so i downloaded and installed the ZIP. Copied the program to my SD card, allowed unknown apps to be installed, installed the app....

    and now what? I can't get the app to work on my Keyboard...

    Is there somthing here I'm missing??
     
  2. sportadic22

    sportadic22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    did u go to settings... then language & keyboard... then choose swype?
     
  3. r-dubya

    r-dubya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    houston
    Ratings:
    +0

    :blink: Nope, missed that one.

    I tried, EVERYTHING else, i knew it had to be something simple. Thanks:)
     
  4. sportadic22

    sportadic22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha welcomeee
     
  5. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Make sure the stock keyboard is unchecked.
     
  6. STIDRIVER

    STIDRIVER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now that we have a fresh Swype thread and the OP is good.. How do you type big words? Still trying to get used to this app... 5 or 6 letter words are fine, but large words (try Alpharetta) don't go so well. It seems like it doesn't like tapping one letter at a time, it give you 4 options, one of which is the letter.. but then it puts spaces in when you try to hit it. Help?
     
  7. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    ok i tried typing alpharetta (wth :shocked:) and got operetta lol. mine does fine typing one letter at a time....
     
  8. bastosero

    bastosero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Some words, especially long words, are not in the Swype vocabulary/dictionary. You can just add them in there manually. Type the word out and put a space after the word you just typed out and it will automatically be added, or you can also type the word out and long press on the box where you typed it and choose "Add 'word' to dictionary". Next time you use Swype to make the word it should work.
     
  9. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or names, in this case.
     
  10. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    if the word you want to type is NOT in there:
    1.type the word letter by letter
    2. click the word so the cursor is blinking in the middle of the word
    3.long press the word until a menu pops up.
    4.at the bottom press Add "yourwordhere" to dictionary

    -=Jason=-

    EDIT: I have names, email address , and www.websites in my dictionary