Help with Rooting, Titanium Backup, and installation of Google Voice

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by hondabomdc5, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah thats a great question. i dont know... i thought when i downloaded it i get it from the link in your "all eggs in one basket" thread. But anyways...thanks to you it looks like i now have the correct version of rsd lite. So i deleted all the other files except for the moto drivers and i am re-downloading the VRZ file now. Im going to extract it into a new folder on my desktop and try this whole process again and i am hoping it works. Im currently waiting for my phone to charge to 100% before i do anything though
     
  2. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    329
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +344
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I think it will go much better this time.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    in progress as we speak... its at 11/16 flash system "system.img" and its been there for awhile now....getting a little nervous
     
  4. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    reboot in progress....lets hope it worked
     
  5. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    ALRIGHT it worked. THank you SOSOSO much SYDMAN...now i think i am going to factory data reset and then re-root the phone
     
  6. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did the FDS and then immediately ROOTED my phone. Everything went smoothly and I have root again and now I am in the process of getting all my apps and syncing my accounts and whatnot. I am going to download Titanium Backup and follow that link you provided and freeze all those un-needed apps. WHO knows....maybe it will improve battery life a little bit. I am also going to follow Foxcats battery thread and charge the battery next time to 100% while my phone is off. I think the next big thing i would like to do now that i am rooted again is to find a way that is EASY to get a really good and stable version of GOOGLE NOW on my phone
     
  7. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    329
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +344
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Glad you got it working.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you sir. I definitely know alot more about the rooting process thanks to your help.

    Would you happen to know anything about using set cpu? I want to figure out some good profiles to set that will still allow the phone to be fast and also help conserve some battery
     
  9. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    329
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +344
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    No I have never been one to over clock or under clock things. I know Mattyp under clocks his phone you might ask him what setting he uses.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. DroidRazrKid

    DroidRazrKid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Can u help me? Ive got Droid Razr 4.0.4 Verizon & i want to get recovery but idk how & idk wat fastbook is or wat safestap is im so confused on how to do utility 1.8 :( i need help plz!
     
  11. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sydman....So i have been doing some research about ROMS. I would like to install one. I found this one [Rom][1.01]Droid Hd - DroidRzr.com .

    It is pretty much the UI from the new RAZR phones. I really like the UI and want it on my OG RAZR. After researching it seems as if I need to install Safestrap. Im not to familiar with it but I have been reading up on it. I found a stick on it in the Hacks threads but the first post is dated from a couple of months ago and I was wondering if everything is still good with the sticky.

    What would be your suggestion on getting safestrap on my phone so that I can flash this awesome rom.....which BTW has google now built into it...can you say awesome.
     
  12. DroidRazrKid

    DroidRazrKid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    use the one on the utility 1.8 and it should be option 5. flash safestrap
     
  13. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    329
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +344
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Yeah you can side load safe strap with the RAZR utility version 1.8 or 1.81.

    I have never used it before though, I use Clockwork for my recovery since I don't flash Roms.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  14. DroidRazrKid

    DroidRazrKid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0


    Do i have to do fastbook? and if so wat does it do ? im not rooted yet im still on offical 4.0.4 stock
     
  15. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    329
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +344
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    No fast booting is for when you need to get your phone back to the stock ICS from say the .215 leak or you need to unroot.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page

backup kik messages

,
backup text kik root
,
how does backup text for kik app work if not rooted
,

how to backup kik messages

,
motoboot motoboot.img
,
titanium backup freeze now droid razr m won't boot
,
titanium backup google search
,
titanium backup on kik
,
titanium backup safe to uninstall voice search
,
titanium delete voice search