Help With Rooting Please

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by d1rtd1ver1, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. d1rtd1ver1

    d1rtd1ver1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone give me a quick how to on rooting the razr maxx. I've tried motofail or whatever it is and it didn't work for songs reason. I've jail broken before and tried routing some but I'm a dev. Please help so I can put aokp ics Rom on my maxx! Thanks this stuff is confusing as hell
     
  2. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Welcome to Droid Forums!!

    I took your post and started a thread up for you. I don't know anything about the Razr so hopefully someone will be able to provide you with some links and info to get you on your way.
     
  3. leftspin

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
  4. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Thank you leftspin!! Helpful as always :biggrin:
     
  5. leftspin

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    De nada :)
     
  6. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    If you decide to use the Droid Razr Utility be sure you extract the utility to its own folder on your computer's hard drive. Do not try to run the .bat file from the zip folder...it usually will not run correctly. I agree with leftspin...the Razr Utility is probably the best all around utility you can find for the Razr if you want to root, unroot (both ICS and gingerbread) etc.
     
  7. d1rtd1ver1

    d1rtd1ver1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems to be the best option but even after extracting it from the zip file, it gets hung up. It opens the black window, I hit enter at the any key option, it says it's waiting on the phone and doesn't go any further. Phone is on charge only and debugging is on..... I'll try again tonight but idk
     
  8. pinoy_92

    pinoy_92 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    set the phone on charge only.

    are you on ICS yet?
     
  9. d1rtd1ver1

    d1rtd1ver1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone is on charge only and no I'm on stock 2.3.6 GB
     
  10. pinoy_92

    pinoy_92 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    looks like a driver problem.
     
  11. d1rtd1ver1

    d1rtd1ver1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought stoop but I have the version 5.0.5 or whatever and I believe that's the newest. I've installed them too but Idk if it's really doing anything.... it's annoying cause I've followed utube videos and it works for them but my phone never restarts and accepts the root. Sry I know it's annoying
     
  12. d1rtd1ver1

    d1rtd1ver1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I have latest 5.4.0 drivers and phone is in debugging mode but it still sits on waiting for phone. Sometimes I get the "daemon isn't working. Starting it now successful." But nothing more. How long does it take? Why will it bot find my phone.
     
  13. d1rtd1ver1

    d1rtd1ver1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so i rooted installed safestrap and attempted to flash aokp but it fails to boot the rom just black screen. Any help?
     
  14. leftspin

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Explain the steps you took to install Safestrap and the ROM, you may have accidentally missed something or done it wrong
     
  15. d1rtd1ver1

    d1rtd1ver1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK update sry got from to work nicely but no 4g. Yes I switched to GSM and back to lte