Help with roms and kernels

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by drilus, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. drilus

    drilus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have FRG01B and wondering if it's needed to update? I've had two updates pushed to my phone from verizon but I'm not sure if these are really necessary.

    I do want to try out Cyanogen6. Would I need to update in order to use that rom? Lastly, is there a kernel that works best for CM6?

    I'm running a Droid 2.2 with build mentioned above.

    Sorry if these questions seem very basic, but there is so much information I'm going through it's a little overwhelming.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you rooted?
     
  3. drilus

    drilus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I'm rooted. =]
     
  4. Nick177th

    Nick177th Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should be good to go then. Make sure you read the instructions on how to install the rom though. I have never had a problem installing any rom but, I have read that some roms are installed better with SPrecovery and some install better with Clockwork mod recovery. I have always used clockwork mod and never had any problems. Make sure you back up your current rom before you flash a new one and wipe data and wipe cache before you flash a new rom also.
     
  5. drilus

    drilus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I don't need to worry about upgrading from FRG01B?
     
  6. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have root access you should be able to flash the ROM with no issues as is
     
  7. drilus

    drilus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    last question. Do i have to use ClockworkMOD to flash CM6 or can I just use SPRecovery?
     
  8. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should probaby jump over to the Cyanogenmod section in hacks to see what the dev calls for.