1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Help with Remote desktop

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jedibandit, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. jedibandit
    Offline

    jedibandit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saginaw, mi
    I have widows vista home. Is there a remote desktop that will allow me to play music from my computer over the internet on my droid? Thanks
  2. kilo
    Offline

    kilo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the paid version of Remote RDP supports sound but I would imagine it would be choppy and compressed sound. I used to try to stream audio from my home computer at school both behind > 6 meg pipes and sometimes it would be skippy, Im doubting the performance you would get through 3g.

    Anywho, curiously, why don't you jsut put the music on your 16gb sd card? Or grab a larger card if its not enough. They are getting a lot cheaper these days. :)
  3. jedibandit
    Offline

    jedibandit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saginaw, mi
    I've tried Remote RDP but I couldn't get it to work. I read it only works with vista business or ultimate. I've got 50gb plus of music. Not that I need to listen to all of it but I would like access to it and put some movies on the sd.
  4. alucardx
    Offline

    alucardx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    RDP will not play sound and possibly video over the protocal to where you're viewing the session (another pc, your phone, etc). it's made really for 1-way administration of your machine.

    what you're looking for is some sort of streaming application. i think the newest windows media player with win7 can do this but I don't know what clients it supports probably only other windows machines.
  5. Artimis
    Offline

    Artimis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not remote desktop per say but ORB should allow you to do this.
Search tags for this page
pandigital digital picture fram system is temporarily inoper
,

pandigital photo frame system is temporarily inoperative

,
pandigital picture frame says, system is temporarily inopera
,

rdp pandigital