Help with Kernel installation

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by janson745, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. janson745

    janson745 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Metro-Detroit, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone,

    I have been searching for the last hour, and I cant find anything on this specific problem, so I need help....

    I downloaded the z4root for my Droid 1. I rant the program and it worked perfect. I now have super-user permissions.

    I then downloaded the kernel that I want and moved it to the root of my SDcard with Astro.

    Then I am using Clockworkmod's recovery... But there is my problem. When I "re-boot in recovery" it shuts down, then comes back to the screen with the Yellow Triangle with exclamation point and phone icon in the middle of the screen, but there are no words or anything for me to do. I can do nothing but pull the battery and re-start the phone.

    Any help with this?
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Not extremely familiar with Z4 but its sounds like you're missing your recovery. I'd say get ROM Manager and flash a recovery there.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  3. janson745

    janson745 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Metro-Detroit, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actutally this is all way after z4root. Its rooted and good there

    Alright, the recovery thing sounds about right. I see that it says I need to have "Clockwork Mod Recovery", but I dont see anything in the market that is this. I have the ROM manager thru ClockworkMod. Is that not the correct one?
     
  4. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Do you have the premium version? At the top, it'll say which recovery you currently have and an option at the bottom to flash an alternate recovery (SP).

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  5. janson745

    janson745 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Metro-Detroit, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is most likely the problem.... I only have the Free version. Okay, Ill do that now.

    Thank you! you have been most helpful!
     
  6. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Let me know if that helps

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  7. janson745

    janson745 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Metro-Detroit, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so Premium app fixed that problem. As I mentioned, you are the best. Thank you so much!

    One last (I hope its the last) question... So, after I run through Recovery and re-boot, after "installing" - My kernel shows the stock one, and I can not change my clocking, even though I should be able to go to 1.1

    Any ideas there?
     
  8. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Are you using SetCPU? Did Clockwork say it installed?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  9. janson745

    janson745 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Metro-Detroit, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using CPU tuner, because the comments said it was better than SetCPU.

    And Yes, clockwork said it was installed and then I re-booted after it told me to.

    Is there anything I need to to to enable it after it boots up or anything?
     
  10. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Go into Settings > About Phone and see what it says under Kernel and we'll go from there.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  11. janson745

    janson745 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Metro-Detroit, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kernel version
    2.6.32.9-g874c292
    android-build@apa26 #1
     
  12. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    That's the stock kernel. What kernel are you trying to install? Make sure its a Froyo kernel.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
Search tags for this page

how to install alternate kernals, og droid