help with flash for OC kernal

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Nedaroth, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. Nedaroth

    Nedaroth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Beach, Ca
    Ratings:
    +2
    i rooted yesterday and now i want to flash the overclock kernal for 800mhz. I installed DRH and i droped the flash image in sys/bin, now how do i go about flashing it? I did see an advanced button in the DRH program, is that the one to use?

    thanks
     
  2. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you say you dropped the flash_image into system/bin, do you mean that you used adb to push it? If not, you can just the DroidRootPro app that you have to do it for you. From that app, do the following:

    Mount the system to read/write,

    Install busybox

    Install flash_image

    It's a good idea to install SPRecovery using that same app before flashing anything in case there is a problem.
     
  3. Nedaroth

    Nedaroth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Beach, Ca
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks i will give it a go
     
  4. Nedaroth

    Nedaroth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Beach, Ca
    Ratings:
    +2
    where im getting hungup is after i push the buttons the next ones are reboot options, reboot ,reboot recovery, shutdown then recovery. what exacutes the flash.
     
  5. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    It installed the flash_img just as soon as your hit the "install flash_image" button. After you do that, you are good to go to flash one of the overclock kernels. No need to reboot, just make sure you have SPRecovery installed and have created a nandroid backup before flashing the overclock kernels. Do you need help with creating a nandroid backup?
     
  6. Nedaroth

    Nedaroth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Beach, Ca
    Ratings:
    +2
    yes, i feel i missed something. I got the DRH and followed the instructions and checked that it put tools where it should be, then i got image for 800mhz and put that in the sys/bin. But can not get to anything that lets me flash it.

    i guess what im asking is how do i get to flash button whle in DRH.


    OK i did not have DRH Pro, that explains a lot, now with pro version should i update busy box? Do i need to remove free version and start over.