help with droid backup to stock

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by DROIDpfft, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. DROIDpfft
    Offline

    DROIDpfft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so i installed bugless beast on my droid. then i heard about 2.1 this week so i used this guide to go back to stock

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/13466-how-back-stock-no-su-no-busybox-etc.html

    everything went ok but my wifi says "unable to start"...
    i've read on here about how people go about fixing it by doing a backup. HOWEVER my phone doesnt have the backup/restore option anymore i read something about reverting to old boot.. how do i actually get my phone back to stock. sorry for being a noob

    [​IMG][​IMG]
  2. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your using a modified kernel
  3. DROIDpfft
    Offline

    DROIDpfft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i revert back to the stock one?
  4. lmapp
    Offline

    lmapp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MS
    Where did you find your 2.01 file (update.zip)?
  5. DROIDpfft
    Offline

    DROIDpfft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried the back to stock update.zip on this forum??
  7. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. lmapp
    Offline

    lmapp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MS
    That's the same one that I used, and I'm ok. I have no idea at what point the kernel is replaced, but when I went back to stock it was from sholes, not bugless. That may not make a bit of difference.
  9. DROIDpfft
    Offline

    DROIDpfft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. Droidster163
    Offline

    Droidster163 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a different Kernal Versio as well. I rooted with Sholesmod and unrooted with SMupdater. Does having a differnet Kernal matter?
  11. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SU.zip

    That zip has the root and unroot update.zip in it.
  12. lmapp
    Offline

    lmapp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MS
    Download smupdater from the market for $5 (which is the legit thing to do), or free from their site, here: http://downloads.sholes.info/smupdater-7.apk . If you use sholes (and I would), you don't need to download anything else.

    ps - Sholes and smupdater are the same thing as far as this is concerned.
  13. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    or just download the unroot update.zip and run it....how hard is that??
  14. lmapp
    Offline

    lmapp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MS
    Sorry...didn't see your earlier post. :)
  15. wil318466
    Offline

    wil318466 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The wifi bug is easily fixed. Just do a search.

    -Wil
  16. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but it sounds to me like he wants to unroot and go back to stock...meaning he already did the wifi fix with the alternate kernel and now needs the stock kernel back
  17. DROIDpfft
    Offline

    DROIDpfft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahhh thank you so much! smUpdater worked like buttuh!!! Took a few tries. But I just set my phone to "never sleep while charging" fell asleep and when I woke up. Flashed rom. Everything back to stock and wifi is working as I type. Thanks to everyone for the help