help with D1 root using Droid-life guide

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by droidoesall, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. droidoesall
    Offline

    droidoesall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento
    so i have rooted my phone several times and each time i attempt using android sdk, i always end up giving up because of some error or i get stuck.
    well this time im not giving up.

    this is the guide im using How to: Root Motorola DROID Running Android 2.2 FRG22D - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    so i finally successfully installed newest android sdk and java sdk.

    android-sdk-windows is located on my desktop so thats were i cd it from command prompt. so far i think im good

    i have enabled usb debugging and i have extracted Droid2Root.rar to c:\droid2root

    i do the following step "adb devices (This should list a device as a long number. If it doesnt something is wrong.)" but all i get is "list of devices attached. what am i doing wrong?
  2. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    i'm gonna move you over to the Rescue Squad - some real brainiacs over there who should be able to help you out toot suite! :)
  3. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    When you get the 'list of devices attached, isn't there a number on the next line? I think otherwise, it would say Device not found.

    good luck
  4. droidoesall
    Offline

    droidoesall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento
    No, when I type in adb devices all I get is, "list of devices attached" I get no numbers.

    I think it might be the drivers. I am having trouble installing the drivers correctly. I use Motorola's software and it says successful but I check my device list and there still not installed

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Well, I tried it with mine (I was at work yesterday) and I get the same message with a long number and 'device' in the next line. I thought maybe you needed to enable usb debugging, but I re-read that you have. Where in your device manager are you looking? Mine shows as an "ADB Interface". Also, what happens if you type 'abd shell'?
Search tags for this page

drivers motorola d1

,

how to root diamond d1

,

motorola razr d1 root