Help with applying a new rom

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by tdelfie03, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. tdelfie03

    tdelfie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a rooted moto droid and i am having a problem getting a custom rom.I am trying to apply bugless beast V0.4. I dl it with no problem but when it asks me to wipe cache and reboot in recovery mode i get the triangle with the exclamation point in it. the only way to get out of it seems to be a battery pull. any help would be appreciated.thank-you
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you install SPRecovery or are you using Rom Manager?
     
  3. tdelfie03

    tdelfie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    rom manager
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    If I understand correctly, you want to use Rom Manager to install BB. If that is the case you do not need to boot into recovery.

    Open RomManager, go to the rom section, then to the BB section and download BB. The status of the download is available in the notification area. Once the download is complete scroll down the notification bar and tap the notification. Rom Manager will open and ask if you want to make a backup and or wipe. When installing a new rom for the first time do a wipe and backup (always). Rom Manager will install and reboot your phone.

    If you wish to use Rom Manager to flash SPRecovery so you can install roms via SPR then you need to open Rom Manager scroll to the bottom and flash the alternative recovery SPR.

    Once your install SPR then boot into recovery (X and power) to make backups and install files (roms) that are available in the update.zip file format.

    Hope this helps. If you have questions or concerns post and we'll get you through.

    Mike
     
  5. tdelfie03

    tdelfie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i did that and i got the screen with the triangle and exclamation point
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    To clarify-- you flashed the alternate recovery SPR and are still receiving the triangle and exclamation point?

    If that is correct, can you please tell me what process you used to root your phone?
    Did you install a terminal emulator from the market? If so, please open that app and type SU The $ should turn to #

    Mike
     
  7. tdelfie03

    tdelfie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Open RomManager, go to the rom section, then to the BB section and download BB. The status of the download is available in the notification area. Once the download is complete scroll down the notification bar and tap the notification. Rom Manager will open and ask if you want to make a backup and or wipe. When installing a new rom for the first time do a wipe and backup (always). Rom Manager will install and reboot your phone. that is what i did. sorry for being a pain
     
  8. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Such serious issues with Rom Manager.

    That's why I use SPR
     
  9. tdelfie03

    tdelfie03 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used easy root to root my phone
     
  10. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    SBF to root and to unroot

    Go there. Do option 1 then option 2, then you can download any Rom from this site...including BB, and install

    Rom Manager and easy root have been very problematic, from what I have seen
     
  11. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +72
    This is the second issue I have seen a person that used easy root have with RM. I use RM and while it is sometimes "temperamental" (try to new flash a ROM only to boot back up with the same one I was on) I always get it to work.

    Try flashing an older version - 2.0.1.3 seems to work well for me.