Help with .apk files

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by blake2050, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I have taken some .apk files that i wanted to modify and renamed them to .zip so I could extract the info. My question is once I have modded the file and put it all back together in .zip format, how do I convert .zip back to .apk?? Also once I do convert back to .apk can I just adb push the new file.apk to the specific location, or will I need to use sync and reboot and all that? Thanks!!
     
  2. AWB

    AWB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should be able to just rename the .zip file .apk and you should be able to push the file to most anywhere. However for navigating file paths the SD card may be the easiest place to put them.
     
  3. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so my only problem is that when I try to rename the file to .apk it just keeps it in zip format giving me file.apk.zip is this because im running XP? Plus, although i rooted my phone and have the Super user permissions I am not really sure how to use it and access the sd card. The apk I modded was framework-res so I am pretty sure it has to go back into /system/framework, right??
     
  4. AWB

    AWB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    As far as the problem with renaming the file type to .apk I'm stumped. You should just be able to take .zip out of the name and leave it as .apk. Next after renaming put the framework on the root or top level of your SD card. Then unmount the SD card from your computer (unmount on PC first then from cell phone). Then open command prompt and access adb shell. Then enter the following code:

    su
    mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    busybox cp -R /sdcard/framework-res.apk /system/framework
    reboot

    This should be everything you need. If you do not have adb or do not understand it read this guide http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/6865-how-use-adb-all-commands-options.html

    Next if you do not have busybox installed follow the guide in this link (a different way for loading the framework-res.apk is provided here as well). http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...covery-framework-res-apk-custom-boot-ani.html
     
  5. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well this might sound stupid to you but how would I get to the sd card root or top level? Like I said I have the superuser permissions app thing but it is always just a blank page when I open it. should I mount my phone and then turn this app on or something? I will install busybox now. Thanks for the help...
     
  6. blue rocket

    blue rocket Official DF Vendor Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried to do this will beautiful widgets (change the graphics) and every time i try to install my new modded apk it says that it did not install. For the life of me i can't figure out what changes besides the pngs that would cause the install to fail.
     
  7. Finnstang

    Finnstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Open a folder on your PC...Tools...Folder Options...View tab...uncheck "Hide Extensions for Known File Types"...Apply


    That will allow you to get rid of the .zip on the end.
     
  8. Finnstang

    Finnstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once you modify an apk, you need to resign the apk...you should be able to Google "resign android apk" for more information.
     
  9. AWB

    AWB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plug the phone into your PC. Then open the notifications bar and select the option to mount the SD card. Then it becomes a drive on the PC.
     
  10. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks! another quick noob question. I am trying to install busybox but when it comes time for me to enter this code:
    everytime I type in a line and hit enter it just copies what I wrote. Do I need to write all the code at once then hit enter or what?
     
  11. blue rocket

    blue rocket Official DF Vendor Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    eh, looks like a lot of effort.

    if i posted up the modified APK would someone be able to resign it. More or less its the latest version of beautiful widges (with htc clock) but i changed the flip pages to be black and the numbers to be white (and the new droid font).

    i'll up it if someone can do that for me.
     
  12. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok yea I knew how to do that, I just wasnt sure if the root part of the sd card had to do anything with rooting your phone or not.. Thx again..
     
  13. Finnstang

    Finnstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you want someone else to put in the effort for you?
     
  14. AWB

    AWB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope everythin is fine. It should do that to tell you the syntax worked. Otherwise you get an error.
     
  15. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well crap after I typed in reboot I closed cmd. How will I know if all of what I did worked?
     
Search tags for this page
apk to asec converter
,
convert .asec to .apk
,
convert apk to asec
,

convert asec to apk

,
convert zip to apk file
,
how to change zip file to apk
,
how to convert asec to apk
,
how to convert zip file to apk file
,

how to convert zip to apk

,

zip to apk converter