1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[HELP] Voice Search Problem!

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM D2' started by Tygr, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have searched all over for a answer to this, however I can't seem find a working solution.

    I press the mic hard key on my Liberty 2.0.1 Droid 2 and it comes up with
    -Messaging (from liberty)
    -and Voice Search

    I downloaded Voice Search by Google several times now and still cannot get it to work. I remember before Liberty I could press the hard key and it would allow me to TALK, transcribing my speech into text. Now it forces me to use the Voice Search program which is rather finicky and not my taste.

    Is there a way I can get this Voice to Text working correctly again? I miss it. :(
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Try going to settings/applications/manage applications/voice search and clear data and cache.
  3. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the reply. I do that but still have the same problem.

    I select inside the text box.
    I press the mic hard key.
    It brings up the 'speak now' menu.
    I say hello.
    It Google searches hello.

    -_- Does anyone elses work correctly? I even reflashed!
  4. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Help me please. I really enjoy the speed of liberty. I don't want to sacrifice functionality.
  5. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been looking all over every forum I know of to find a fix for your problem and I can't find a single thing. When you uninstall Voice Search (Voice to Text) it still leaves remnants of that app.

    If you have a Terminal Emulator, on your Droid, try typing this in the Emulator:

    su
    mount -o rw,remount /system
    rm -f /data/app/com.google.android.voicesearch-2.apk
    pm uninstall com.google.android.voicesearch-2.apk

    Make sure you hit enter after each line. When done, exit out of the Terminal, reboot your phone, go back to the Market re-download it and try again. See if that helped at all or not.
  6. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swagger! I really REALLY appreciate your time and your effort in helping me. Upon visiting Google's website, I learned that Voice Search MAY NOT be what I am looking for!.

    -_-

    I think it was BLUR from Motorola that I associated with Google, presuming it was an Android addition. Checking into it currently.

    Speech-to-Text application introduced in Motorola Droid Android Phone | Top Tech Reviews

    That is what I am reading through atm.

    Thanks again for your replies guys. <3
  7. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No luck with my BLUR idea.

    Trying your solution now.

    In Terminal Emulator I started with
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    sysrw
    success

    su
    says nothing

    mount -o rw,remount /system
    Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory

    rm -f /data/app/com.google.android.voicesearch-2.apk
    rm failed for -f, Read-only file system

    pm uninstall com.google.android.voicesearch-2.apk
    Failure
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Tried it a few times and still nothing. I used Root Explorer and it doesn't seem that I have a file by that name. Maybe I will try clear data and cache, reboot, reinstall and try your idea again.

    Any more help is HIGHLY appreciated!
  8. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you go into Root Explorer, go into data, then go into app. Look for a file "com.google.android.voicesearch-2.apk" That's where it is suppose to be located. If its not there then that may be also causing parts of your problem.

    Sent from a different galaxy in space...
  9. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have com.google.android.voicesearch-1.apk

    With a 1 and not a 2. Does it make a difference?
  10. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't imagine it does. Can you try it in the Terminal Emulator again? Only this time don't put "com.google.android.voicesearch-2.apk"

    Change it to "com.google.android.voicesearch-1.apk" and see if that uninstalls it. That's why it failed because I put a 2 (which is what mine shows) and yours is a 1.

    Then reboot, and try re-downloading Voice Search and see if that fixes anything.
  11. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It replied with read only file system again. :/
  12. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's because your system isn't mounted. Once you mount your system it becomes read/write instead of read-only.

    The lines I gave you is suppose to help you mount your system by using that command.

    su means you're giving the Emulator SuperUser permission.
  13. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I type su it doesnt say anything, however terminal emulator gets superuser when i open it. It get a pop up immediately upon opening it that it is granted super user privileges.

    Perhaps something is interfering with it mounting correctly? Earlier I posted my results with terminal emulator. Does the feedback from terminal look correct?
  14. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everything is fine except you aren't mounting your system first.

    This line here:

    mount -o rw,remount /system

    Will mount your system. Notice "rw" that means read/write.

    Are you doing all of this on the Terminal Emulator on your phone?

    Here is the command lines again. Try without su this time. Type each line accordingly and hit enter where I say (hit enter).

    mount -o rw,remount /system (hit enter)
    rm -f /data/app/com.google.android.voicesearch-1.apk (hit enter)
    pm uninstall com.google.android.voicesearch-1.apk (hit enter)

    Exit out of Emulator. Reboot phone.

    Make sure you use the space between the lines where it shows on the command lines above.
  15. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FFS
    -_-

    I am using Terminal Emulator from my phone, yes.

    When I type
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    rm -f /data/app/com.google.android.voicesearch-1.apk
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I get text back that reads
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    And I continue to type

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    rm -f /data/app/com.google.android.voicesearch-1.apk
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    And in return I AGAIN get

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    rm failed for -f, Read-only file system
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



    I feel like I need to do something different after it says
    Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory
  16. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me check for a different command line when I get home from work later on. Those command lines have never failed me to uninstall an app. I even tested it last night before I went to bed and it worked fine for me. Ill look at a different command line and report it here in a little while.

    Sent from a different galaxy in space...
  17. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swagger, it appears that my phone is automatically loading applications from my backed up original ROM. Is this possible?

    1. I re-flashed Liberty 2.0.1 after factory reset and clearing cache.

    2. I never visited the market.

    3. After a reboot my phone has a few apps on it. Voice search included.

    Where are these apps hiding and how are they loading themselves?
    I found Voice Search in /System/App
    It reads GoogleVoice.apk

    Your help is still fantastically appreciated, thank you.
  18. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What have you been doing to the phone since then? I don't understand what you just did to it that is "automatically loading applications from my backed up original ROM."

    You don't need to keep re-flashing the ROM. It's just a simple problem with mounting your system. I did have another command line, that was a bit shorter, that would remove the original Voice Search app. Google Voice and Voice Search are 2 different things.

    Since you seem to be having a bit of trouble with the Emulator, I'd like to ask if you have Titanium Backup by any chance? If you do, wonderful, we can uninstall Voice Search through that easily. If not, then I'll go ahead and provide the command line.
  19. Tygr
    Offline

    Tygr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had used bootstrap recovery.

    I have:
    -original ROM (motorola, Blur, the way I bought it)
    -Liberty 1.5
    -Liberty 2.0.1

    I flashed Liberty 2.0.1 again, but since I have the others saved on my SDcard, I was wondering if it was pulling old applications from that somehow.

    I can download Titanium if it will make things easier.
    Do i need pro?
  20. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, it won't be pulling stuff from your backups.

    Since you don't have Titanium Backup, I would say go ahead and get that since it will be easier for you to use.
Search tags for this page
android gingerbread voice search connection problem
,
android speak now not working
,

connection problem google voice search

,
google voice search
,
top tech review speech text application introduced motorola
,
voice search connection problem
,
voice search connection problem speak again
,
voice search not working correctly on my droid bionic phone
,
voice search not working on droid 2 a955
,
voice search not working on motorola droid 2 a955