Help!!! Unroot needed asap!!!!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by CammedLS3, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. CammedLS3

    CammedLS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my phone in January using SuperUser, mainly so I can have screenshots. Just recently the button on the top right to turn the phone on broke and I took it to Verizon and I have a refurbished one under warranty that was sent to me.

    I need to unroot. I am brand new to all of this and need exact instructions lol. Please help my Droid brothers lol!!!!!!!!!!


    I tried entering the following into the terminal emulator but it doesnt work, it says "permission denied" when I type in su.

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    cd /system/app
    rm Superuser.apk
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    sync
    reboot


    I rooted using superuser, the only app I really used was "screenshot" so just like the app says, I could have screenshots.


    Please help!!! My original phone needs to be sent back ASAP and I need to get it unrooted!!
     
  2. Suuperflie

    Suuperflie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
  3. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea just flash the SBF to your droid, be patient, and itll be back to stock. Or I hear there is an "update.zip" out there somewhere that erases everything, puts you back to stock, and removes recovery with no SBF needed...

    So wait, you rooted in January and only have been using it for screenshots? No roms? Meh?
     
  4. CammedLS3

    CammedLS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No roms, nothing. After I rooted it, I used it for the ability to have screenshots then the camera started acting up. So I didnt take the root any further. Then the button on the top right stuck down and it wont come back up. So I decided its time for a warranty claim. :) No troll here...
     
  5. fox_dye

    fox_dye Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you download a stock rom with no root and flash that you will be back to stock. I did it on my wife's phone. But to be really safe I would sbf. That wipes everything and is a way to be sure your completely stock.

    Sent from a galaxy far far away........
     
  6. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep. Just make sure you download the latest Motorola drivers, RSD lite, and the right sbf file.
    Just make sure the sbf file loads up in RSD lite before you try to flash.
    I had the be extra careful because my only internet source was Wifi tether, so I had to make sure everything was right first before I even tried.
    Had to run to a hotel to download drivers when I bricked my D2G

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  7. CammedLS3

    CammedLS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Can anyone point me in the right direction for this? I am running 2.2.2
     
  8. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
  9. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here's the sbf file:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?nd8bi9w67drdvlx

    BTW the reason the update didn't work is that the Clockworkmod recovery you booted up in is not the stock recovery interface, it was a tool that the former owner flashed over the stock recovery, and thus does not function like stock recovery. It will look different after you flash.


    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  10. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thought I was posting to the thread where a guy got his phone from another guy who had rooted it and wanted to unroot. Feel free to point and laugh.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  11. CammedLS3

    CammedLS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOO HOO!!!!!!!!!

    I AM UNROOTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I unrooted myself just a sec ago. I had to reroot the phone and then unroot it by using the "unroot" button on superoneclick (the software I used to root it in the first place). Works like a charm now. No superuser icon, no nothing. Planning on doing a hard reset later (in the settings menu).

    My question is....Is this sufficent enough so Verizon wont find out I rooted it?
     
  12. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Only if the phone still has the original recovery. If you flashed a different recovery through ROM Manager or something, it will still be there. In that case you will have to flash. If not, WOOT! to you.

    Sean

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  13. CammedLS3

    CammedLS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only thing I used with the root was two apps:
    1) "screenshot"
    2) Terminal command thing

    Never overclocked, no different ROM's....nothing

    I think I am all set!! Someone please give me the final yes so I can pull the new phone out of the box and start setting it up. dancedroid
     
  14. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, you should be good.

    I had been running Cyanogenmod 7 rom with the Clockwork mod recovery, I had to flash before I sent it back.



    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  15. CammedLS3

    CammedLS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all your help man. Have a cold one on me :pint::smile:
     
Search tags for this page
how to root motorola defy xt
,
motorola defy xt
,
unroot moto defy
,

unroot motorola defy

,
unroot motorola defy xt
,
unrott motorola defy